Emby Server takes long time to begin stream

Sizzlebox

Sizzlebox

Server:

6HDs, FX6300, 4GB RAM, Win 10, Emby Server Version 3.2.60.0, disabled active monitoring and disabled subtitle extract. Transcoding between Emby Server and FFMPEGX take 100% of all 6 CPU threads and about 80% of RAM.

Client:

Apple TV 4K, Auto quality playback,

On 1080p video files, its 30-60 seconds from clicking "play" on a video before it actually begins playback. 

I'm relatively new to Emby, so I'm not sure how to approach it.

On the same machine in Plex, it would be near instantaneous.

See logs.

edit: oops, forgot to mention. Only has the integrated GPU and I do not believe I enabled any HW encoding/decoding.

ffmpeg-transcode-edbdca80-791a-40c9-8bb9-3d78519747e2.txt

server-63650233373.txt

Edited by Sizzlebox

hi @@Sizzlebox, the reason for the slow startup is due to the combination of the fact that you disabled subtitle extraction, and due to the fact that you have subtitles selected.

That means the subtitles have to be burned in on the fly and this process can be very painful on your server's CPU. Try de-selecting those subtitles and I think you'll see that the video starts up very quickly.

Please let us know if this helps. Thanks !

Sizzlebox

hi @@Sizzlebox, the reason for the slow startup is due to the combination of the fact that you disabled subtitle extraction, and due to the fact that you have subtitles selected.

That means the subtitles have to be burned in on the fly and this process can be very painful on your server's CPU. Try de-selecting those subtitles and I think you'll see that the video starts up very quickly.

Please let us know if this helps. Thanks !

Okay. I see. I’m hard of hearing so I depend on subtitles (like closed captions). So, what options should I use if I want subtitles all the time?