Emby Emby Emby Docs
  • Emby Home
  • Support Home
  • Server Docs
  • Client Docs
  • Premiere Docs
  1. Support Home
  2. Emby Server
  3. Server Management
  4. Manage Users
  5. User Customization
Search Results for

    Show / Hide Table of Contents

    User Customization

    Users are managed within the server dashboard by navigating to Users.

    Once a local user account has been created, the first step should be to set and save a password for that account. See Passwords. Then you can come back and the customization outlined in this article.

    Emby Connect

    You can link the local user account to an Emby Connect e-mail address. See Emby Connect.

    Control Remote Access to the Emby Server

    You can control remote connections to the server at the user level.

    You can disable or hide a user, as well as lock them from changing their user profile settings.

    Disabling User

    Disabling a user will do just that. All existing sessions from that user will be abruptly terminated.

    Hiding User account name on Login Screens

    Hiding a user will simply remove them from visual login screens. They will need to enter their username and password manually.

    Controlling user's ability to change password / add a profile image

    The server administrator can disable the user's ability to change their password and profile image. Disabling this would remove the ability to edit the Profile in the list of User Preferences visible to the user. This is useful for administrators who prefer to dictate these terms to their users.

    Feature Access

    Features can be granted or denied, such as the ability to delete media, download media, view live tv, manage live tv, etc. The "Allow media playback" option determines if the user is able to play media or not. This option is handy if you'd like to setup a user who can browse the library but not play anything.

    You can set a limit on the number of concurrent video streaming sessions for the user. Note that this requires Emby Premiere for it to be enforced.

    You can also limit the bandwidth per video streaming for devices away from the local network.

    And in cases where the remote device has quality set to Auto, you can also put a bandwidth limit to override that.

    If you want to allow media deletions by the user, you can select from the list of libraries and channels.

    You can also decide how they can remote control shared devices. Remote controlling another user allows them to send content to devices for playback while another user is signed in. Remote controlling shared devices, such as Dlna devices, allows them to send content to those as well. These can be set now or later.

    Other features can also be configured: Downloads, Subtitles, Camera Upload, Media Conversion, Sharing playlists and some limited media information sharing on social media.

    See Also

    • Copy User Settings
    • User Preferences
    • Content Access
    • Device Access
    • Parental Controls
    • Passwords
    On this Page
    2026 © EMBY LLC. Please see our terms of use and privacy policy.
    Back to Top