Jump to content


Photo

I think i broke every thing...

broken accidentally deleted cant use fix linux elementary os server

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Arkapravo OFFLINE  

Arkapravo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Local time: 05:44 AM

Posted 23 February 2020 - 10:19 PM

hey sorry at first place i may hear stupid..
but apparently i was so frustrated about not able to use samba(not of the emby's) on my pc after a furious uninstallation,
i removed every file with a 'samba' in it.

then i realized i deleted a whole lot of emby server files also..    :'''(

 

 

i am completely screwed up right now...
i have tried everything from uninstalling with

'apt remove' then installing,
'apt --autoremove remove' then installing,

even 'apt --autoremove purge' then installing again..

nothing is working whatsoever.

the server is firing up and i can browse it through http://localhost:8096 in my pc

but that's it. cant access from any other device in my network.

 

please fix anyway..  _/\_

 

please don't say it can't be fixed.

 

thanks in advance


Edited by Arkapravo, 23 February 2020 - 10:22 PM.


#2 sfatula OFFLINE  

sfatula

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 658 posts
  • Local time: 07:14 PM
  • LocationCalera, OK

Posted 24 February 2020 - 01:17 AM

And, I presume the most basic item there is, backups, none?



#3 Arkapravo OFFLINE  

Arkapravo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Local time: 05:44 AM

Posted 24 February 2020 - 05:21 AM

conviniently,

No, I don't.

i didn't realize i would mess up so badly.



#4 mastrmind11 OFFLINE  

mastrmind11

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 3014 posts
  • Local time: 08:14 PM
  • LocationLong Island, NY

Posted 24 February 2020 - 07:58 AM

if you can access it from localhost, then it's not an emby issue.  Did your IP change?



#5 Arkapravo OFFLINE  

Arkapravo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Local time: 05:44 AM

Posted 24 February 2020 - 09:21 AM

I don't know what exactly did this,
but, YAY!!

 

it fixed..,
tried so many things but exactly what fixed this, idk.

 

so desparate i was, even tried plex...
*it was awful*

 

but i can wildly guess, that it might be some firewall issue..

while deleting those samba files i might have deleted some firewall rules [don't know how is that possible],

but allowing the 8096 port or maybe another change,

its working well again.



#6 sfatula OFFLINE  

sfatula

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 658 posts
  • Local time: 07:14 PM
  • LocationCalera, OK

Posted 24 February 2020 - 02:26 PM

Better get backup going now, lol. It is hard to guess what you may have done, so many ways to break things. 


Edited by sfatula, 24 February 2020 - 02:29 PM.


#7 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 152914 posts
  • Local time: 08:14 PM

Posted 24 February 2020 - 09:59 PM

Glad to hear it's resolved.

#8 Arkapravo OFFLINE  

Arkapravo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Local time: 05:44 AM

Posted 25 February 2020 - 05:00 PM

Better get backup going now, lol. It is hard to guess what you may have done, so many ways to break things. 

I definitely want to take backup,
but can i back up server with out emby premiere?

If i can, can you please let me know how..??
\



#9 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 152914 posts
  • Local time: 08:14 PM

Posted 25 February 2020 - 05:15 PM

I definitely want to take backup,
but can i back up server with out emby premiere?

If i can, can you please let me know how..??
\

 

Hi there, our backup guide can be found here:

https://support.emby...01159936-backup

We work very hard on Emby and we thank you for your support.



#10 Arkapravo OFFLINE  

Arkapravo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Local time: 05:44 AM

Posted 25 February 2020 - 05:20 PM

Hi there, our backup guide can be found here:

https://support.emby...01159936-backup

We work very hard on Emby and we thank you for your support.

 

so without premiere, no backup?



#11 sfatula OFFLINE  

sfatula

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 658 posts
  • Local time: 07:14 PM
  • LocationCalera, OK

Posted 25 February 2020 - 05:24 PM

You can use any system software you want. I take a server image every 3 months with Clonezilla and store it in bank vault, I use Back In Time, I use Raidz2 (not a backup really), and I use Duplicati to store offline at B2 Cloud. There are lots and lots of backup software out there. Backing up Emby does you little good if you lose your server with some accident or whatever and have to start over. 



#12 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 152914 posts
  • Local time: 08:14 PM

Posted 25 February 2020 - 05:25 PM

so without premiere, no backup?

 

You can still backup manually.



#13 Arkapravo OFFLINE  

Arkapravo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Local time: 05:44 AM

Posted 25 February 2020 - 05:28 PM

You can use any system software you want. I take a server image every 3 months with Clonezilla and store it in bank vault, I use Back In Time, I use Raidz2 (not a backup really), and I use Duplicati to store offline at B2 Cloud. There are lots and lots of backup software out there. Backing up Emby does you little good if you lose your server with some accident or whatever and have to start over. 

nope, backing up config will be enough,
i dont use raid and chances of server blowing up is fat..
so any help with config backup?
any how-to?



#14 Arkapravo OFFLINE  

Arkapravo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Local time: 05:44 AM

Posted 25 February 2020 - 05:29 PM

You can still backup manually.

yes, please, tell me the process man... :P  :P  :P



#15 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 152914 posts
  • Local time: 08:14 PM

Posted 25 February 2020 - 05:36 PM

It's in the article i linked to above.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: broken, accidentally deleted, cant use, fix, linux, elementary os, server

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users