Set HD source as a priority in Series Option

slidvendetta

slidvendetta

I am just getting started with Emby and I am extremely happy with the Live TV and DVR functions. I tried some searches in these forums, but I may have not had the correct search parameters, so sorry if this has been answered before.

Is there any way I can set the series options to prefer HD sources over SD for shows I have selected to source from all channels/anytime?

• Like 1

This is not currently possible but it is a good idea for the future.

Thanks.

slidvendetta

Thank you very much for the prompt response. I am hopeful you can get this implemented. The only work around I can think of is to set up recordings on each channel the shows broadcast to cover the HD and SD. The Emby team is doing some great work. Keep it going!

• 8 months later...
warrencalvert

I'd really like to see an option to prefer HD sources in scheduled recording options, please add to your to-do list!

• Like 1

I'd really like to see an option to prefer HD sources in scheduled recording options, please add to your to-do list!

It is but first we have to know what an HD source is...

The server already prefers hd internally. The potential for an option would really be for hd only.

warrencalvert

thanks for the update, that's useful to know but could you clarify what 'server prefers hd' means?  If I set a movie to record on an SD channel which is also broadcast on an HD channel will it record the HD version instead?  

Or if I have a series scheduled to record every episode will it automatically record the HD version rather than the SD version?

thanks

If I set a movie to record on an SD channel which is also broadcast on an HD channel will it record the HD version instead

No it's only for series recordings. So for example, if it's going to record season 4 episode 6 of a show, and it realizes the same episode is airing multiple times on mulitple channels, then it will prefer HD when possible.