OTA File Naming Convention Configurations with Schedules Direct

JulsPlus

JulsPlus

Hello,

I’ve been using Emby Server for a few years now and absolutely love it. Thank you Emby developers! Admittedly, I can barely manage to stumble through the setup and configurations. I need some additional assistance in displaying the season and episode numbers correctly for our TV shows that have been recorded OTA.

Currently, every single episode I’ve recorded “this year” is displayed with season 20 and episode 18. Yes, that’s right, every OTA recording....errrr! After reading through a few forum threads, I took a quick look at our wtv file naming convention. Here is an example (Last Man Standing_KTLADT_2018_05_25_01_28_00.wtv). I’m fairly confident that the file naming convention is the issue.  We use Schedules Direct with a Hauppauge WinTV 418 BDA Tuner. Strangely enough the season and episodes are displayed correctly for “Live TV” section of Emby. So the issue must not be with Schedules Direct, correct?  I manually renamed one of the pre-existing OTA recording file names with S**E** and it now displays correctly in Emby. So here is my question (finally….):

• Where can I change the OTA recording wtv file naming convention configuration? Is it in Emby or Schedules Direct configuration?

Thank you in advance,

Julie

JulsPlus

Hello All,

I found the episode and season numbers are populated to the "Windows Recorded TV Show Episode Name" metadata information.

Windows Media Center (which we are no longer using) reads the metadata correctly and displays it for us. However, Emby is displaying information based on the physical file name. Is this a setting or configuration that can be changed?

I've also been reading about how to change the file naming conversion for WMC in the registry. While you can designate episode names as part of the file name, it didn't seem to have values for season and episode numbers.

Thank you in advance, any assistance is greatly appreciated.