Jump to content


Photo

Modern8 - A Metro Inspired Windows Media Center Theme

Media Center Theme Skin Metro Modern Xbox Customize Windows UI Art

  • Please log in to reply
112 replies to this topic

#21 asmithau OFFLINE  

asmithau

    Advanced Member

  • Alpha Testers
  • 33 posts
  • Local time: 05:19 PM
  • LocationMelbourne, Australia

Posted 07 January 2014 - 01:06 AM

Hi Neomasal,

 

I've been playing around with the latest release and its fantastic. Excellent work!

 

Well done.

 

Adam


  • NeoMesal likes this

#22 tobycth3 OFFLINE  

tobycth3

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • Local time: 01:19 AM

Posted 07 January 2014 - 10:36 AM

This appears to crash my extender. I'm also unable to open Media Center via a RDP session (same technology the extenders use).

I also noticed I can no longer arrange my start menus using Media Center Studio after setting this up. I had to restore my PC to a restore point to fix my start menu order (Recorded TV).



#23 SilentAssassin OFFLINE  

SilentAssassin

    Advanced Member

  • Alpha Testers
  • 199 posts
  • Local time: 07:19 AM
  • LocationEngland

Posted 07 January 2014 - 04:20 PM

I was also doing this over an RDP connection. Modern8 and the file copied over, all traces of old one removed. I will need to try this direct on the computer and see if it works.



#24 NeoMesal OFFLINE  

NeoMesal

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 45 posts
  • Local time: 05:19 PM
  • LocationAustralia

Posted 07 January 2014 - 10:50 PM

Ok, hopefully that was the issue. Let us know if you still have problems :)



#25 tobycth3 OFFLINE  

tobycth3

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • Local time: 01:19 AM

Posted 08 January 2014 - 04:45 PM

My issue is that you can't open Media Center if you are in an RDP session or use it on an extender with this theme. It works fine on my main HTPC (aside from my Recorded TV HD menu being moved to the top). I think there still exists an issue with the theme that doesn't allow extenders to work.



#26 NeoMesal OFFLINE  

NeoMesal

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 45 posts
  • Local time: 05:19 PM
  • LocationAustralia

Posted 09 January 2014 - 02:57 AM

I've updated first post with links to Modern8 1.1:

 

I think the RDP issues were caused by the audio files - the bit rate was too high (over 2000kbps!?) or something else was astray when I exported the files with Audacity.

Either way, I've converted the files again and reduced the bit rates to the same as Keef's un8y .wav files and everything seems ok now when I use remote desktop.

Also, just a few minor string changes.

 

Cheers and thanks for pointing it out :)

 

PS I don't have an extender to test, but it should have been due to the same issue


Edited by NeoMesal, 09 January 2014 - 03:00 AM.


#27 keef OFFLINE  

keef

    Advanced Member

  • Alpha Testers
  • 97 posts
  • Local time: 07:19 AM
  • LocationBonnie Scotland

Posted 10 January 2014 - 08:38 AM

Been reading the RDP/extender issues with interest.

 

Do you guys regularly access Media Center via RDP, and does it usually work OK?

 

I've not got an extender, so can't test un8y with an extender, and I've never tried to open WMC on my main HTPC via RDP - until now.

 

RDPing from work and opening WMC resulted in WMC crashing immediately with un8y enabled.  Disabling un8y resulted in the same thing.

 

Then I came across this.  Uninstalled KB259287 update on my HTPC (via RDP...) and WMC via RDP now works with un8y disabled or enabled.

 

Don't know if this is related to any of the Modern8 RDP/extender issues you guys are reporting - guess it depends on whether these worked for you before installing Modern8...


Edited by keef, 10 January 2014 - 08:49 AM.


#28 NeoMesal OFFLINE  

NeoMesal

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 45 posts
  • Local time: 05:19 PM
  • LocationAustralia

Posted 10 January 2014 - 06:13 PM

Well, I don't normally use RDP - only if I rarely needed to access my HTPC with a keyboard and mouse (much more efficient than an IR remote!)

 

It's interesting that un8y also crashes when using RDP - perhaps it's just a coincidence? Because my HTPC and laptop are running Windows 8.1 and that update only applies to Windows 7. Previously Modern8 was fine via RDP, but I never did anything further because I can't play any videos or music via remote desktop.

 

I'm curious to hear what OS's the others are using who have/had the problem.



#29 ProAm500 OFFLINE  

ProAm500

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • Local time: 06:19 AM

Posted 11 January 2014 - 10:26 PM

Nice work...is there anyway to get sceenshots of the light theme? I assume its basically just white?

 

EDIT: I dont need the screenshots...I did some tinkering on my other box. Great all-around work!!!!


Edited by ProAm500, 11 January 2014 - 10:52 PM.

  • NeoMesal likes this

#30 DigiTM OFFLINE  

DigiTM

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 228 posts
  • Local time: 04:19 PM
  • LocationBrisbane, Australia

Posted 14 January 2014 - 03:26 AM

Love this new theme.  It's what Media Center should have been.


  • NeoMesal likes this

#31 tobycth3 OFFLINE  

tobycth3

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • Local time: 01:19 AM

Posted 15 January 2014 - 11:23 AM

Audio files fixed the RDP/Extender issue I was having. Thank you! This theme is great. I only have one suggestion for the guide: http://i.imgur.com/yFCrl.png


  • NeoMesal likes this

#32 NeoMesal OFFLINE  

NeoMesal

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 45 posts
  • Local time: 05:19 PM
  • LocationAustralia

Posted 16 January 2014 - 02:03 AM

Updated the first post with links to Modern8 1.2

 

@tobycth3

Yeah, I normally use the guide with colours and logos (as you can see from the screenshots) - so I've put some accent files in for the guide. And now hopefully the Modern8 folders should be easier to navigate, as it was a bit or a mess before trying to customise stuff.

 

And FYI, the download is double the size not because of new stuff, but probably just lots of duplicates ;)

 

Also the BACKGROUND.jpg is now found in \Modern8\Images\ and has been renamed to ALLBACKGROUNDS.jpg (so it is alphabetically at the top of the list)

 

Cheers :)


Edited by NeoMesal, 16 January 2014 - 02:08 AM.


#33 humantorch14 OFFLINE  

humantorch14

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • Local time: 06:19 AM

Posted 25 January 2014 - 05:31 PM

First, I just want to say, fantastic work NeoMesal.  As soon as I saw the screenshots for this theme, I knew I had to have it.  I'm having one small annoyance that I'm hoping someone can help me with. I've tried everything I can think of as far as modifying files and nothing has worked. I noticed in your screenshot, all the text appears to be white, including program descriptions.  For me, program descriptions still seem to be the default light blue color.  I'm also getting the light blue color in other places, like the Zoom and Caption tabs. The highlighted option is white in Zoom and Caption, but the other options are blue. Below is a screenshot from the guide.  I tried a few other themes and even reinstalled Media Center Themer after clearing out the folder in ProgramData and it seems to stay blue across all themes.  Any idea what's going on there?

 

52e42b0cc61e5_Untitled.png

 

 

UPDATE: Finally managed to figure it out myself. I had to edit MCTDefault.XML to include:

 

<TextFormat>
 
<Text Font="Segoe Media Center">
<Replace Color="rgb(255,255,255)"/>
</Text>
 
<Text Font="Segoe Media Center Light">
<Replace Color="rgb(255,255,255)"/>
</Text>
 
<Text Font="Segoe Media Center Semibold">
<Replace Color="rgb(255,255,255)"/>
</Text>
 
</TextFormat>
 
Not sure if that's normal, or if my system is weird. I thought COLORS.mcml would handle all of that.

Edited by humantorch14, 25 January 2014 - 06:43 PM.

  • NeoMesal likes this

#34 NeoMesal OFFLINE  

NeoMesal

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 45 posts
  • Local time: 05:19 PM
  • LocationAustralia

Posted 25 January 2014 - 10:23 PM

UPDATE: Finally managed to figure it out myself. I had to edit MCTDefault.XML to include:

 

<TextFormat>
 
<Text Font="Segoe Media Center">
<Replace Color="rgb(255,255,255)"/>
</Text>
 
<Text Font="Segoe Media Center Light">
<Replace Color="rgb(255,255,255)"/>
</Text>
 
<Text Font="Segoe Media Center Semibold">
<Replace Color="rgb(255,255,255)"/>
</Text>
 
</TextFormat>
 
Not sure if that's normal, or if my system is weird. I thought COLORS.mcml would handle all of that.

 

 

Since that the text was staying blue across all themes, there must be something unique about your setup. I was actually going to suggest the method you used to fix the problem once I read the email notification, but you beat me to it  ;)

 

Just be aware that the auto-colourize feature of Media Center Themer might override the text colour of some add-ons, but you shouldn't have too many problems.

 

Glad it worked out in the end :)

 

Cheers

NeoMesal

 

EDIT: I also added details of your fix into the first post


Edited by NeoMesal, 25 January 2014 - 10:48 PM.


#35 AgileHumor OFFLINE  

AgileHumor

    Advanced Member

  • Alpha Testers
  • 759 posts
  • Local time: 10:19 PM

Posted 26 January 2014 - 12:15 AM

This theme is awesome!  Thank you for all your hard work.  It must have taken 100+ hours....wow!

 

What theme are you using to match this in MediaBrowser...NEO?


Edited by AgileHumor, 26 January 2014 - 12:24 AM.

  • NeoMesal likes this

#36 NeoMesal OFFLINE  

NeoMesal

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 45 posts
  • Local time: 05:19 PM
  • LocationAustralia

Posted 26 January 2014 - 01:34 AM

Thanks AgileHumor :)

 

I originally started using Keef's un8y theme. Except for a few changes, it was mostly the same as his; after a while I wanted something a bit more 'metro' to suit the design of Windows 8. Some of the members had been toying with some flat tiles in the un8y thread, so after a few months work, voilĂ : Modern8.

 

And yes, it's easily 100+ hours work. But it was a good excuse to watch TV at the same time!

 

So for that reason, there isn't really a particular companion theme in MediaBrowser. Also, the HTPC I use is primarily for over-the-air TV in WMC, so I don't use MB a whole lot :mellow: (hope the mods don't boot me :rolleyes: )



#37 AgileHumor OFFLINE  

AgileHumor

    Advanced Member

  • Alpha Testers
  • 759 posts
  • Local time: 10:19 PM

Posted 26 January 2014 - 01:45 AM

Well, I thank you again sir. My Fiance gave it the thumbs up too.

 

Just installed the Square theme which brings XBox One look and feel.  I welcome evolution of Neo.


  • NeoMesal likes this

#38 humantorch14 OFFLINE  

humantorch14

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • Local time: 06:19 AM

Posted 26 January 2014 - 03:48 AM

Since that the text was staying blue across all themes, there must be something unique about your setup. I was actually going to suggest the method you used to fix the problem once I read the email notification, but you beat me to it  ;)

 

Just be aware that the auto-colourize feature of Media Center Themer might override the text colour of some add-ons, but you shouldn't have too many problems.

 

Glad it worked out in the end :)

 

Cheers

NeoMesal

 

EDIT: I also added details of your fix into the first post

 

I actually messed around a little more, since it bothers me not to know the root cause of things, and I found the actual issue.  Turns out it was a single registry key mucking up the works. I navigated to: [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Media Center\Settings\MCE.PerUserSettings] and deleted the key: "optimizeFor"="Television"

 

Interestingly enough, I went through the Configure TV or Monitor settings in WMC again after deleting this (and confirming the text was white without the modification to the XML file) and when the registry key was recreated, even though I chose Television in the settings, the registry key was entered as ComputerMonitor this time.  So no idea how it ever got set to Television in the first place.


  • AlwinHummels likes this

#39 NeoMesal OFFLINE  

NeoMesal

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 45 posts
  • Local time: 05:19 PM
  • LocationAustralia

Posted 26 January 2014 - 05:21 AM

Interesting. How did you discover that it was the registry key causing the problem?

 

(Also, I edited the first post again to reflect what you just posted)


Edited by NeoMesal, 26 January 2014 - 05:22 AM.

  • AlwinHummels likes this

#40 humantorch14 OFFLINE  

humantorch14

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • Local time: 06:19 AM

Posted 26 January 2014 - 02:13 PM

Interesting. How did you discover that it was the registry key causing the problem?

 

(Also, I edited the first post again to reflect what you just posted)

 

Through a lot of trial and error. I created a new user profile and it didn't have the issue with font color.  So I copied my entire profile to the new profile and then it had the issue.  Then I just went through and started deleting registry keys under that user profile.  I noticed that the problem went away when I deleted everything under HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\ so I restored everything and then just kept drilling down and repeating that process until I found the key that was causing the issue.


  • NeoMesal likes this





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Media Center, Theme, Skin, Metro, Modern, Xbox, Customize, Windows, UI, Art

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users