Jump to content


Photo

TVDB no primary cover images and wrong metadata language

tvdb metadata images cover

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 unnamed8848 OFFLINE  

unnamed8848

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Local time: 04:53 PM

Posted 19 January 2020 - 10:08 AM

I know, we probably all have issues with thetvdb, but I haven't found anyone having the problem I have.

 

I'm using the latest version of the plugin as of today. All the metadata gets downloaded in english, even though german is selected. And it doesn't find any primary cover images, all others e.g. background are found.



#2 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 157196 posts
  • Local time: 10:53 AM

Posted 19 January 2020 - 02:51 PM

Hi there, did you check to see what tvdb has for the show you tested?



#3 unnamed8848 OFFLINE  

unnamed8848

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Local time: 04:53 PM

Posted 19 January 2020 - 04:39 PM

Of course, it has multiple languages for the text and images, including german. But I observed something interesting, if I switch the image metadata language for the library to english, I get cover images with the edit images option ( but only in english )



#4 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 157196 posts
  • Local time: 10:53 AM

Posted 20 January 2020 - 10:03 PM

@Dibbes are you able to reproduce?

#5 Dibbes OFFLINE  

Dibbes

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 1245 posts
  • Local time: 04:53 PM
  • LocationMadrid, Spain

Posted 21 January 2020 - 04:30 AM

I don't have any libraries in German and the default for my server is set to UK English, I do not see this issue with the two movie libraries I've set to Spanish and Dutch respectively...

 

The only thing I do see is this issue, which I do not believe is really an issue:  https://emby.media/c...en/#entry834009

 

@unnamed8848 Can you step by step write down what to do to reproduce this issue, please?



#6 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 157196 posts
  • Local time: 10:53 AM

Posted 02 February 2020 - 12:59 PM

@unnamed8848

Are you still running into this?

#7 unnamed8848 OFFLINE  

unnamed8848

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Local time: 04:53 PM

Posted 02 February 2020 - 01:38 PM

Yes, I made a quick screen recording: https://gfycat.com/blindcomposedagama



#8 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 19200 posts
  • Local time: 07:53 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 02 February 2020 - 02:27 PM

Yes, I made a quick screen recording: https://gfycat.com/blindcomposedagama

@Luke in this this example a Spanish language image appears for all translations on TVDB, but Emby does not see it if all languages are selected.

 

Setting preferred download language to Spanish, the image appears from TVDB.

 

But my system returns images from FanArt in en, and it when all languages is selected.

 

tested on Windows 4.4.0.11 

TVDB 1.0.28.0


Edited by Happy2Play, 02 February 2020 - 02:29 PM.

  • unnamed8848 likes this

#9 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 157196 posts
  • Local time: 10:53 AM

Posted 19 February 2020 - 01:36 PM

Are  you still running into this?



#10 unnamed8848 OFFLINE  

unnamed8848

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Local time: 04:53 PM

Posted 21 February 2020 - 09:56 AM

Yes, nothing has changed


  • daedalus likes this

#11 unnamed8848 OFFLINE  

unnamed8848

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Local time: 04:53 PM

Posted 28 March 2020 - 02:37 PM

Any news on this? Still have this problem... The solution would be just to download in another language if the preferred one isn't found. Before theTVDB changed their API a while ago, this was the case.



#12 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 19200 posts
  • Local time: 07:53 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 28 March 2020 - 02:47 PM

There are to many issues with TVDB to do anything right now.  Best bet if possible is try TMDB.

 

I really don't see anything changing until TVDB release v4 api, as that is where they are pushing all their fixes to current issues or v3 shortcomings.



#13 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 157196 posts
  • Local time: 10:53 AM

Posted 08 May 2020 - 01:13 PM

Are you still having an issue with this?







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: tvdb, metadata, images, cover

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users