Jump to content


Photo

Folder Sync for Backup Job

Backup Media Offsite Archive

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Brudertac OFFLINE  

Brudertac

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 64 posts
  • Local time: 03:07 PM

Posted 01 May 2019 - 01:34 AM

Hi there,

 

the Folder Sync Plugin can be used for Backup Purposes...

But, then please insert a "Move" Option so that i get my Files Moved to the Backup Location (just the original Files, without Transcoding etc.) 

 

Really nice would be an Option in Emby to Backup Media (MOVE) to a Folder if defined Users have watched it.

That would really help to keep the Libraries organized and not too big....

 

Thanks for Reading :)

 

best Regards

Brudertac

 

 



#2 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 145887 posts
  • Local time: 09:07 AM

Posted 01 May 2019 - 02:09 PM

Hi, I don't quite understand. Wouldn't you just use your backup location as the sync folder, if that's what you want?



#3 Brudertac OFFLINE  

Brudertac

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 64 posts
  • Local time: 03:07 PM

Posted 01 May 2019 - 02:28 PM

Hi Luke,

 

Yes, my Backup location would be the Sync-Folder.

But when i think of a Backup, i do not need a Synchronization, i need that those Files are moved to the Backup Folder. (for example an USB HDD).

 

I would to use that Feature (Move to Backup Location) also to make Room on my Server for new Stuff. With it i could easy define what Movies are no longer

needed on the Server and let them Move to Archive...

Yeah, better think of it as an Archive Function instead of an Backup...

 

Hope you understand me better now.

 

Thanks!



#4 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 145887 posts
  • Local time: 09:07 AM

Posted 03 May 2019 - 12:53 AM

You could still use folder sync for this though. You can disconnect the folder sync drive anytime you like and there will be no problem.


  • Brudertac likes this

#5 Brudertac OFFLINE  

Brudertac

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 64 posts
  • Local time: 03:07 PM

Posted 04 May 2019 - 02:20 AM

But what happen if i have syncronized Media and want to delete them from the Server? I believe it will be deleted from the USB Drive too, and that is not wanted.



#6 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 145887 posts
  • Local time: 09:07 AM

Posted 04 May 2019 - 01:18 PM

Ok yes you're right.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Backup, Media, Offsite, Archive

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users