Streaming Issue on shield

wkerr0730

wkerr0730

I've been having an issue streaming to my Nvidia shield TV.  No issues to a web client on the same network.  This is to the Baconfeet server.  I've confirmed I have a constant 200mpbs link to the server.  I'm a network engineer by trait, and have been trying to TS this problem for the better part of 6 months with no resolve.

Here are some TS notes:

1. Played a movie (The Social Network) in web browser on my PC.  Looks like its directplay.  I let it go for 20 ish minutes and ran into no issues. https://imgur.com/MqUcDGo
    1. So with this, that tells me the issue is most likely something on Emby / my system.  I completed uninstalled Emby from the shield, reinstalled it, and connected to the BaconFeet_8 server (instead of 1 which I am normally connected to).
      1. I did notice that it installed version 1.6.71g, where before I was on a beta version.
    2. I loaded up the same movie and let it go on Shield... about the first 20 minutes, no issues.  then I noticed I was getting DD only... transcode.  weird.  I had to set the quality to 100mbps instead of "auto" to get direct play to work
    3. Tested various 4K movies on Shield Lion King 4K etc.  At a bitrate of ~82mbps constant buffering.  UGH.
    4. Tested a few non 4K TV shows  on Shield  .  At a bitrate of ~11.5 mbps saw buffering every few minutes.
    5. Tested a few non 4K movies on Shield .  At a bitrate of ~13mpbs.  Got one initial buffer at most loading the movie... then let it play @ the 7 min ish mark I started getting buffering about every minute.
    6. One additional interesting note is when I tried 4K John Wick two it went over 100mpbs and that seems to make Emby transcode and add all this odd transcode speed stuff.  Any thoughts? https://imgur.com/E0LQkKC
Edited by wkerr0730