Jump to content


Photo

Remote access no longer working.

Emby Server Remote Access Windows

Best Answer Luke , 30 July 2018 - 08:11 PM

Hi there. I would suggest checking out our connection troubleshooter:

https://github.com/M...ki/Connectivity

 

Please try the steps listed there and let us know which ones succeed and which ones do not. Thanks !

Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 Sean89Butler OFFLINE  

Sean89Butler

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Local time: 07:43 AM

Posted 30 July 2018 - 08:09 PM

I tried accessing my server when I was on vacation and I was unable to connect. Remote access has been working fine for the past year, I'm not sure what has changed. I checked my firewall and everything looked good, just to be safe i removed the inbound rules and added them again, but still no luck, I even disabled my firewall completely but it still didn't work. I am able to remote into my computer with Chrome remote desktop connection, so it seems like my network is working as it should. And yes, I do have port forwarding set up. As I said earlier this was working perfectly for over a year, It just stopped recently. Anyone have any Ideas?



#2 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 138001 posts
  • Local time: 08:43 AM

Posted 30 July 2018 - 08:11 PM   Best Answer

Hi there. I would suggest checking out our connection troubleshooter:

https://github.com/M...ki/Connectivity

 

Please try the steps listed there and let us know which ones succeed and which ones do not. Thanks !


  • ebr likes this

#3 Doofus OFFLINE  

Doofus

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 12274 posts
  • Local time: 05:43 AM

Posted 30 July 2018 - 08:45 PM

Is your account still linked? For some reason, my account became unlinked, today. When you try to connect, is the server showing as a choice, or is it failing to connect?

#4 Sean89Butler OFFLINE  

Sean89Butler

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Local time: 07:43 AM

Posted 31 July 2018 - 12:23 AM

I looked at the trouble shooter and I have everything set up correctly. Like I mentioned before, remote access worked fine up until a few weeks ago. All of my hardware is exactly the same, I haven’t messed with any of my settings, it just no longer works.

Doofus,

When I try to access it remotely it shows my server. Once I click on the server, I hit connect then it just times out after awhile.

#5 Doofus OFFLINE  

Doofus

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 12274 posts
  • Local time: 05:43 AM

Posted 31 July 2018 - 12:41 AM

Did you try canyouseeme?



#6 Sean89Butler OFFLINE  

Sean89Butler

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Local time: 07:43 AM

Posted 31 July 2018 - 12:44 AM

Yeah, it gives me "Remote connection timed out"

#7 Doofus OFFLINE  

Doofus

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 12274 posts
  • Local time: 05:43 AM

Posted 31 July 2018 - 01:01 AM

So that means it's being blocked. Maybe your windows firewall got an update and something changed? But your port is no longer open. Do you have internet security that has a firewall?



#8 Sean89Butler OFFLINE  

Sean89Butler

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Local time: 07:43 AM

Posted 31 July 2018 - 01:16 AM

Well I just restarted my router and my port is open again. Go figure lol.

I have a mesh network with 3 Google Wi-Fi's and an Onhub. Maybe their was a communication issue between one of them.

Anyways, thanks for all you help!
  • Doofus likes this

#9 Doofus OFFLINE  

Doofus

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 12274 posts
  • Local time: 05:43 AM

Posted 31 July 2018 - 01:26 AM

Glad you figured it out :)



#10 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 138001 posts
  • Local time: 08:43 AM

Posted 31 July 2018 - 01:59 AM

Thanks doofus !



#11 ebr OFFLINE  

ebr

    Chief Bottle Washer

  • Administrators
  • 46979 posts
  • Local time: 08:43 AM

Posted 31 July 2018 - 09:31 AM

HI.  Why didn't you find this error when doing the troubleshooting steps?  What should be made clearer there because that exact step is in there and you said everything worked fine with the troubleshooter...

 

Thanks.



#12 Sean89Butler OFFLINE  

Sean89Butler

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Local time: 07:43 AM

Posted 01 August 2018 - 10:03 AM

The troubeshooter doesn't really have much info in regard to external connections. Just setup port forwarding and checking antivirus. I checked both of those things, Port forwarding was set up and my firewall was allowing the connection. It seems like the troubleshooter is more for initial setup and not for helping to solve an issue when it pops up. Maybe add a section at the end for a "when all else fails, reboot your modem or router lol".

#13 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 138001 posts
  • Local time: 08:43 AM

Posted 01 August 2018 - 10:18 AM

Thanks for the feedback.

#14 ebr OFFLINE  

ebr

    Chief Bottle Washer

  • Administrators
  • 46979 posts
  • Local time: 08:43 AM

Posted 01 August 2018 - 11:26 AM

Hi.  At the end of the remote connection testing section - after the part about setting up port forwarding is this:

 

 

 

Verify Public Port

To test that your public port is accessible over the internet, try testing it from canyouseeme.org

If this test does not succeed, then it's an indication that your router is blocking the traffic and may need additional configuration.

 

Did you not see that or was it not prominent enough or what?

 

We would like people to be able to solve these issues on their own so they aren't left waiting so that's why we're asking.

 

Thanks!



#15 Doofus OFFLINE  

Doofus

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 12274 posts
  • Local time: 05:43 AM

Posted 01 August 2018 - 11:55 AM

I think it probably needs to be more direct. It isn't simple enough for the layman to follow. If there was a section that specifically said "If you have trouble connecting outside of your home network, follow these steps:" and list them 1. 2. 3. etc. And then at each point explain what the possible results, mean.
  • Tur0k likes this

#16 Sean89Butler OFFLINE  

Sean89Butler

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Local time: 07:43 AM

Posted 01 August 2018 - 02:52 PM

Yes, I did see it. I actually tried the canyouseeme.org on my own before ever going to the troubleshooter. I was fully aware that my port was blocked I just couldn't figure out why. When I checked my router it showed that my port was being forwarded. Just to make sure, I deleted my IP reservation for my server and disabled port forwarding, then I went back and re-did everything. Checked my router, and it again showed that the port was being forwarded, but remote access still wasn't working. From there, I went to my Firewall and deleted the inbound rules I had set up, then re-added those, still not working. This was all before ever looking at the troubleshooter. In hindsight, maybe I should have re-started the router first. The only reason I didn't was because everything else on my network was working perfectly and the Google WiFi app was showing that my port was being forwarded. It was just a weird issue with my router.

#17 Doofus OFFLINE  

Doofus

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 12274 posts
  • Local time: 05:43 AM

Posted 01 August 2018 - 03:13 PM

So you thought canyouseeme was wrong? :D

#18 Sean89Butler OFFLINE  

Sean89Butler

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Local time: 07:43 AM

Posted 01 August 2018 - 03:44 PM

Lol, definitely. No, It was just a weird issue. I had other ports forwarded and they worked fine and I could still remote in to my computer. The only one that wasn't working was the port I forwarded for Emby. It's obvious that my OnHub has become sentient and doesn't want me enjoy my media library outside my home. :)

#19 Doofus OFFLINE  

Doofus

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 12274 posts
  • Local time: 05:43 AM

Posted 01 August 2018 - 03:46 PM

It's a robot uprising!

#20 Tavarusj OFFLINE  

Tavarusj

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  • Local time: 08:43 AM

Posted 23 February 2019 - 04:35 PM

Well I just restarted my router and my port is open again. Go figure lol.
I have a mesh network with 3 Google Wi-Fi's and an Onhub. Maybe their was a communication issue between one of them.
Anyways, thanks for all you help!


I have same setup but cannot get remote to function.... U-verse fiber internet with firewall off. I’ve forwarded 8096 port as suggested. Still no go. Help!





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Emby Server, Remote Access, Windows

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users