Step By Step Guide to Restart Server for Asustor NAS AS5202T?

HKWang

HKWang

Hello all,

I'm not an IT expert and most of what's on Emby Server does not start - Security advisory 2023-05-25 does not make sense to me. I have the Asustor AS5202T and have Emby Server 4.7.11.0 installed on it. I realized last night that my TV wouldn't connect to the server so I restarted my NAS but same thing and discovered the above advisory.

Can you post a beginner's step by step guide on how to restart the server on the Asustor?

Thank you.

HKWang
  • Add an entry to your server machine etc/hosts file: emmm.spxaebjhxtmddsri.xyz 127.0.0.1 This is the host name of the control server which the malware is communicating with

As I mentioned, I am not an IT expert and I really don't know what this means and how it is done.

• Suspicious user accounts

If this is referring to user accounts of the NAS, I checked and there are no suspicious user accounts. If you are referring to Emby user accounts, I cannot open the server so I do not know.

• Unknown processes
  • Unknown network connections and open ports
  • SSH configuration
  • Firewall rules

As I mentioned, I am not an IT expert and I really don't know what this means and how it is done.

• Change all passwords

Yes.

HKWang

Will I still have to do all those things if I delete Emby Server from my Asustor AS-5202T and install the beta Emby Server 4.8.0.37?

scb99
9 hours ago, HKWang said:

Will I still have to do all those things if I delete Emby Server from my Asustor AS-5202T and install the beta Emby Server 4.8.0.37?

Yes you will. Deleting the Emby server from the Asustor doesn't remove its data or plugins. When you reinstall Emby whatever this dll is will just come back. 

You will ned to ssh in to the Asustor to sort this out. Better wait for a dev to reply to be on the safe side. I just wanted to quickly warn you that delete and reinstall wont help and probably will make the situation worse.

HKWang

@scb99Thank you.