Server crashing semi-randomly (Imageprocessing-ConvertImageToLocal)

Vitz
Go to solution Solved by Happy2Play,

Hi there,

I'm having a problem where Emby seems to be crashing randomly, but possibly only when transcoding (cryptic, I know). I simply don't know what's causing it. I've included the debug log that was made right before yesterday's crash, but it (and I am no expert in any way whatsoever) does not seem to show any details as to why. The only reason I'm blaming transcoding is because that seems to correlate to when people on my server are transcoding.

I'm running Emby through an Ubuntu 20.04 VM on Proxmox. It's got 24GB of memory, which I reckon should be more than enough. It's got 16 threads to work with which are never saturated, even when transcoding.

I feel like I need to add that the behaviour became a lot more rare when I told users to use maximum quality in their client, thus eliminating transcoding in a lot of cases. Also, I do not have a video card installed in the system so hardware acceleration is not enabled. The CPUs alone appear to be more than capable. 

Beside the Emby debug log I've included an ffmpeg log, but it seems to be many hours removed from Emby's regular log. I don't know how helpful that is because it doesn't represent the time at which Emby crashed.

Any help would be highly appreciated.

embyserver-63769566229.txt ffmpeg-transcode-da9ded3a-5010-4084-aaf9-ad13febe932a_1.txt

Happy2Play

Dev will have to comment more as you log stops at what appears to be loop creating a playlist image "ConvertImageToLocal item 160690 - image url: emby://playlistcollage" almost 200 times.

Unrelated but you need to apply the inotify patch to your platform also.  Not limited to this library. 

2021-10-11 08:10:25.375 Error LibraryMonitor: Error in Directory watcher for: /smb/Movies1
	*** Error Report ***
	Version: 4.6.4.0