4K stuttering help please

Robnaeyaert

Robnaeyaert

Hi Emby team

im very new to 4K and I have three movies that all stutter and skip when playing in Emby theatre.  
Mum not sure if it’s my PC or not. I’m running an i5 NIC5i5RYH with 4GB RAM and the specs say it can run 4K on the DisplayPort which I have plugged into my new 4K TV

the videos seem to stream ok to my phone. 
I’m not sure of all the technical setting I need to tweak so if someone could please point me in the right direction that would be appreciated 

ive attached stats for nerds showing a lot of frame dropping. 

16DDC24D-7654-4E4C-9F20-E98F193731DD.jpeg

GrimReaper

I reckon your Broadwell CPU has no muscle for HEVC 4K 10-bit, even its QuickSync (v4) has no HEVC hardware decode, it was introduced with QSv5 (Skylake, 2 generations later). Reason that there are no issues on your phone is that your mobile is likely several times more powerful and it's taking the load, your NUC is simply serving the file as-is, by DirectPlay. 

• Agree 1

Robnaeyaert
7 hours ago, GrimReaper said:

I reckon your Broadwell CPU has no muscle for HEVC 4K 10-bit, even its QuickSync (v4) has no HEVC hardware decode, it was introduced with QSv5 (Skylake, 2 generations later). Reason that there are no issues on your phone is that your mobile is likely several times more powerful and it's taking the load, your NUC is simply serving the file as-is, by DirectPlay. 

Ok but what is “direct play”?  The specs on the ma home say it handles 4K video via the DisplayPort. I got a Mini DisplayPort to HDMI cable expecting this to work. Are there any setting in Emby that I could try? Hardware acceleration or interlacing or anything?  

thanks   

Robnaeyaert
8 hours ago, GrimReaper said:

Also do you think moving to a 64bit OS will help at all with performance?  I mistakenly put a 32bit Windows 10 OS on this 64 bit machine. Would that help with my 4K playback issues?

generiq