Emby server 4.6.0.50: no advanced support for Intel gen11 GPU (Iris Xe) ?

GPFocus17
Go to solution Solved by rouq,

GPFocus17

Hello,

I just upgraded my Emby server to latest 4.6.0.50, on a NUC11TNHi5 (Intel gen11 mini-PC), running Ubuntu server 20.04.2

When selecting:   Transcoding -> Enable hardware acceleration when available -> Advanced ,

I don't see anything listed under:

"Preferred Hardware Decoders" and "Preferred Hardware Encoders".

See attached hardware detection log.

Is "advanced hardware acceleration" supported for Intel Gen11 GPUs ?

If not, is this feature scheduled to be added?

Thanks,

GP

PS: I have an "Emby Premiere" subscription 🙂

hardware_detection-63757133052.txt

Q-Droid

Was it working before the Emby upgrade? What version of the Linux kernel are you running?

• Solution
rouq

From the logs you are running ubuntu 20.04 on kernel 5.4.  This kernel doesn't have the support for this iGPU.

You need to install kernel 5.10 or later to get the hardware acceleration working.

Regards

• Like 1
  • Agree 1

GPFocus17

Thanks rouq, that did it! 🙂

I upgraded the Linux kernel from "5.4.0-73-generic" to "5.12.6-051206-generic", and now I have access to the advanced hardware acceleration settings (sample attached).

So it was not an Emby problem after all, you guys did a great job with this new version!  :)

Emby_New-Linux_Kernel.gif

hooray4me
9 minutes ago, GPFocus17 said:

Thanks rouq, that did it! 🙂

I upgraded the Linux kernel from "5.4.0-73-generic" to "5.12.6-051206-generic", and now I have access to the advanced hardware acceleration settings (sample attached).

So it was not an Emby problem after all, you guys did a great job with this new version!  :)

Emby_New-Linux_Kernel.gif

Make sure you flip your preference order of those codecs... move quickSync to the top in each category... much better performance... so far :)

7 hours ago, chrissi55 said:

Is there any Guide that tells us how to get it working on VMware ESXi Hosts?

Thanks