"HLS" problem - new data

VicMoore

VicMoore

I am using HLS to play Emby videos via an HTML5 video tag. I noticed that some videos failed after playing for a short time (5 minutes or so). The failure involved the emby server returning a 404 error for a valid video segment request from the client. This failure would stall the clients video buffer if the streaming did not recover before the client reached the end of the buffer and had to stop playing for lack of video data.

I played many videos and recorded the their video and audio codecs. Low to medium resolution videos encoded with an h264 codec and an AAC audio codec always played properly.  Others always failed after 5 to 10 minutes.  The most common problem was audio is a format other than AAC. I also noticed that all ".ts" videos failed to play to completion.

I am just a novice with limited knowledge, so my guess about the cause for these videos failing may be wrong. I believe they failed because of a transcoding problem in the HLS server when it prepares the emby videos for HLS streaming. Some how it's losing a few segments. These gaps in the segments cause the 404 error when the client tries to fetch them.

I have repeated this test several times with consistent results. My URL employed the options below:

VideoCodec  = h264

AudioCodec  = aac

AudioStreamIndex  = 1

SubtitleMethod  = Encode

TranscodingMaxAudioChannels = 2

SegmentContainer  = ts

MinSegments  = 1

BreakOnNonKeyFrames  =True

ManifestSubtitles  = vtt

h264-profile=high,main,baseline,constrainedbaseline,high10

h264-level=52

I hope someone can examine the HLS server and resolve this problem or provide me with a work around.

Vic

VicMoore