Jump to content


Photo

Question about download conversions

space

  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 Ruttus OFFLINE  

Ruttus

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 40 posts
  • Local time: 09:33 AM

Posted 28 March 2020 - 12:03 PM

Now sure whats causing thes files. im out of space because of these files. can someone tell me what they are for and is it ok to delete them and if i do will they come back and what will be effected if I delete them. :) thanks.

Attached Files



#2 Gilgamesh_48 OFFLINE  

Gilgamesh_48

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 974 posts
  • Local time: 10:33 AM
  • LocationTennessee

Posted 28 March 2020 - 03:56 PM

Now sure whats causing thes files. im out of space because of these files. can someone tell me what they are for and is it ok to delete them and if i do will they come back and what will be effected if I delete them. :) thanks.

 

You need a bigger disk and/or you need to enable storing Image, bif and nfo files with the media. Those files are support files that Emby needs to operate correctly but many of them can be relocated to be stored with the media. You can also change the Cache path and the Transcoding temporary path to help save space. Do not place either of those on drives that are accessed through the network.

 

Simply changing the paths does not delete any files but it assures that the files do not grow in the old (default) locations.



#3 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 19143 posts
  • Local time: 07:33 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 28 March 2020 - 04:08 PM

Folders that size are not \metadata\library related. (ie bif, image, chapter, people, actor)

 

Something doesn't look right there either as all those numbered files I would assume should be in their own sub-folder, what are the contents of those numbered folders?  Are those sync or downloads?  You had to have set that location as a custom path for something.



#4 Ruttus OFFLINE  

Ruttus

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 40 posts
  • Local time: 09:33 AM

Posted 28 March 2020 - 07:15 PM

Yes those files are not the transcode or metadata. those are in other folders and have no issues with that. But theses files I'm lost and is huge. I change path to out on my E drive don't want them on my C drive. But those folders generate every other day. And each file is like 500mb to 6gigs.

#5 Ruttus OFFLINE  

Ruttus

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 40 posts
  • Local time: 09:33 AM

Posted 28 March 2020 - 07:16 PM

I don't see where these numbers correspond with.

#6 Ruttus OFFLINE  

Ruttus

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 40 posts
  • Local time: 09:33 AM

Posted 28 March 2020 - 07:18 PM

My c drive is 128gb ssd so I only used it for the OS. And then E drive for storage but is only for emby. Its 500gb just for emby path. The media or contents I have are stored on my NAS and they have a lot of space. So not sure what these files are for.

#7 Ruttus OFFLINE  

Ruttus

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 40 posts
  • Local time: 09:33 AM

Posted 28 March 2020 - 07:23 PM

I noticed at times the server does conversions maybe by a schedule I think. Not sure why. I disable users from converting. So maybe these files are results. The files inside though are not media files. They are just huge. With like hash like names with no ext.

#8 Ruttus OFFLINE  

Ruttus

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 40 posts
  • Local time: 09:33 AM

Posted 28 March 2020 - 07:24 PM

Would this generate these files and if so can I delete them and it don't affect nothing?

Attached Files



#9 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 19143 posts
  • Local time: 07:33 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 28 March 2020 - 07:25 PM

Is that your set file conversion path?



#10 Ruttus OFFLINE  

Ruttus

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 40 posts
  • Local time: 09:33 AM

Posted 28 March 2020 - 11:25 PM

Yes but what do this mean it tries to convert all my media? Do I even need that?

#11 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 19143 posts
  • Local time: 07:33 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 28 March 2020 - 11:34 PM

That is a admin choice if you need/want to convert your media to a compatible format. 

 

I am just guessing it may be related to Conversion.

 

Did you select that as a path for Conversion?  Dashboard-Conversion-Settings tab



#12 Ruttus OFFLINE  

Ruttus

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 40 posts
  • Local time: 09:33 AM

Posted 29 March 2020 - 05:28 AM

That is a admin choice if you need/want to convert your media to a compatible format. 

 

I am just guessing it may be related to Conversion.

 

Did you select that as a path for Conversion?  Dashboard-Conversion-Settings tab

yes I did set the path and its the same, I deleted the files all seems to be working, but more were generated.



#13 Ruttus OFFLINE  

Ruttus

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 40 posts
  • Local time: 09:33 AM

Posted 29 March 2020 - 05:31 AM

on a different note I have 4 videos I add few days now. all avi format, I only noticed with these 4 not sure if others have the issues. mkv I don't . the issues are when playing the video its just a dark screen and no audio, the time is moving in some cases I can even see the timeline thumbnails but can't watch these contents. how to fix that?



#14 valientinx OFFLINE  

valientinx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Local time: 05:33 PM

Posted 30 March 2020 - 02:29 AM

It should be nice to notify user at install point to move transcoding folder somewhere else, this issue killed all my system, armbian, because was 0b space left on "/".

Was good that ssh shell still worked, nothing else was loading.

This is lame by all standards you can think of.

There are so many solutions to make this issue invisible to user, just unbelievable...



#15 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 19143 posts
  • Local time: 07:33 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 30 March 2020 - 08:20 AM

It should be nice to notify user at install point to move transcoding folder somewhere else, this issue killed all my system, armbian, because was 0b space left on "/".

Was good that ssh shell still worked, nothing else was loading.

This is lame by all standards you can think of.

There are so many solutions to make this issue invisible to user, just unbelievable...

What do you mean, put all customizable paths in the install wizard?


Edited by Happy2Play, 30 March 2020 - 08:20 AM.


#16 valientinx OFFLINE  

valientinx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Local time: 05:33 PM

Posted 30 March 2020 - 10:53 AM

What do you mean, put all customizable paths in the install wizard?

 

Well for sure there are solutions to make this issue invisible to user, I mean when you know that a temp file can go to 15Gb and stay there because unfortunately the cast interface was disconnected from android app leaving the media running in chromecast without control, maybe there is a way, when user hit reboot and emby server starts, to clear fist the temp file, or maybe better a script in rc.local somewhere that delete this temp file without server load.

But what do you mean all paths, there are more paths that can have file so large? That will be a useful info for me, I can make a script that rm all at system start.

 

Either way, so far I really like what you have built here, Emby is very nice.


Edited by valientinx, 30 March 2020 - 10:56 AM.


#17 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 19143 posts
  • Local time: 07:33 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 30 March 2020 - 11:22 AM

Well for sure there are solutions to make this issue invisible to user, I mean when you know that a temp file can go to 15Gb and stay there because unfortunately the cast interface was disconnected from android app leaving the media running in chromecast without control, maybe there is a way, when user hit reboot and emby server starts, to clear fist the temp file, or maybe better a script in rc.local somewhere that delete this temp file without server load.

But what do you mean all paths, there are more paths that can have file so large? That will be a useful info for me, I can make a script that rm all at system start.

 

Either way, so far I really like what you have built here, Emby is very nice.

It already does this.  That is one reason some users restart daily.

 

Sure other paths can be large like your \metadata path especially if you don't save images with media.  Mine is over 20Gb and I save all image and metadata with media.  My largest folder is my legacy people folder as it is a really old installation.  But you do not want to clear this folder.

 

Also relocating after the fact would need manual database updates.


Edited by Happy2Play, 30 March 2020 - 11:24 AM.


#18 Ruttus OFFLINE  

Ruttus

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 40 posts
  • Local time: 09:33 AM

Posted 30 March 2020 - 01:55 PM

so bascally if i restart daily it deletes these large files im having and things run better?

 

It already does this.  That is one reason some users restart daily.

 

Sure other paths can be large like your \metadata path especially if you don't save images with media.  Mine is over 20Gb and I save all image and metadata with media.  My largest folder is my legacy people folder as it is a really old installation.  But you do not want to clear this folder.

 

Also relocating after the fact would need manual database updates.



#19 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 19143 posts
  • Local time: 07:33 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 30 March 2020 - 02:00 PM

so bascally if i restart daily it deletes these large files im having and things run better?

Your issue I don't think has anything to do with Transcoding.  Your items are outside the transcode-temp folder.

 

Unless you are specifically talking about that folder?



#20 Ruttus OFFLINE  

Ruttus

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 40 posts
  • Local time: 09:33 AM

Posted 31 March 2020 - 03:10 PM

Your issue I don't think has anything to do with Transcoding.  Your items are outside the transcode-temp folder.

 

Unless you are specifically talking about that folder?

so what causes these files? yeh I see the transcoding files in the transcode-temp folder. but why does these are files keep generating. 







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: space

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users