total noob to mb3

paulsk2

paulsk2

hi all  .ive just downloaded mb3 server on this windows7 pc and im tryin to get my other pc (also win7) on xbmc to connect but im having problems with it is there a quick and easy guide as to what i have to do ? ive added the remote access link that is on the dashboard . ive set it up with a user name and password that ive also put into the xbmc add on but it says cannot connect to server . any help with this would be great , thanks

Edited by paulsk2

xnappo

Please post the log when it fails to connect.

You can find the log in:

%appdata%\XBMC

xnappo

paulsk2

sorry for the delay , ive been tinkering lol . ive now put the server on my xbmc machine and got movies ,tv shows and concerts loaded into mb3 and xbmc  . now i want to know how to share these folders with friends that aren`t on my network .

also , i have a tv tuner that is configured in windows media centre and in xbmc through serverwmc . i have installed the serverwmc plugin in mb3 server and it is showing up in the "live tv" on the dashboard as ok and up to date but on my other pc that i have media browser theatre installed on it i cant stream live tv . it starts up windows media player but cant play anything cos there is no tv tuner on the other pc . is that normal ?

Angelblue05

You will have to create a UNC Folder Share for each "node" (example: movies folder, TV folder). You can follow this simple tutorial.

You will have to re-add your Library Media location using your newly created UNC Folder Share (Network>PC Name>UNC Folders). This part is also explained in the tutorial.

Hopefully it helps!

Vidman

You will have to create a UNC Folder Share for each "node" (example: movies folder, TV folder). You can follow this simple tutorial.

You will have to re-add your Library Media location using your newly created UNC Folder Share (Network>PC Name>UNC Folders). This part is also explained in the tutorial.

Hopefully it helps!