Jump to content


Photo

emby can't reach server with Google Home


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 bdub44 OFFLINE  

bdub44

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Local time: 09:36 AM

Posted 12 March 2020 - 11:03 PM

Hi,

 

I was wondering if anyone with a NAS setup using a Nvidia Shield is able to use a Goggle Mini to work with Emby? I'm able to see my local but it doesn't see my LAN i've tried to port forwarding. I'm trying to run it through a ORBI setup vs ethernet.

 

Thanks



#2 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 156672 posts
  • Local time: 12:36 PM

Posted 14 March 2020 - 01:49 AM

 

 

I'm able to see my local but it doesn't see my LAN

 

Hi there, what exactly do you mean by this? Can you please describe this in more detail? Thanks.



#3 bdub44 OFFLINE  

bdub44

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Local time: 09:36 AM

Posted 14 March 2020 - 07:47 PM

Hi Luke,
My mistake i meant My WAN Setup. Currently I'm trying to get EMBY to see my WAN setup in google home. The LAN part works. I've followed the instructions of setting both my router and my anti virus to port forward the external ports to the default of 8096. I'm using an ORBI as my router and McAFee as my antivirus. Everything is on same network including my NAS device which is where my EMBY files are stored. i've unlinked and re-linked the account through the google home app and still no success. My ORBI is connected though MY main router. My IP address is coming from there. At least that's the IP address show when i test with Canyouseeme.org. I would have responded earlier but my Internet was down messing with things i probably shouldn't have but im back up and running.


#4 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 156672 posts
  • Local time: 12:36 PM

Posted 19 March 2020 - 02:29 AM

@bdub44 are you still having an issue?



#5 bdub44 OFFLINE  

bdub44

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Local time: 09:36 AM

Posted 19 March 2020 - 11:59 AM

Hi Luke,

 

Yes i'm still not able to connect. iIve tried turning off my firewall canyouseeme still says its closed even though when i test it with the command prompt it says the port is opened. I've tried setting a static address on my NAS.I've created a special service on my Orbi using I've tried it with TCP or Both and still not able to get the port.

opened. I assume i have a static public ip since it hasn't changed. Also I noticed that I have UPnP capabilities on my orbi which is checked but when shows the table it show up for Plex but not for Emby if that means anything.

Another thing my orbi doesn't display my public ip address that's on another cable router modem in another room does it matter where i have my port forwarding info? I have it on both.

 

Bdub44


Edited by bdub44, 19 March 2020 - 08:27 PM.


#6 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 156672 posts
  • Local time: 12:36 PM

Posted 24 March 2020 - 12:53 PM

@bdub44 are you able to connect remotely to your emby server from a smartphone? I would suggest getting that working before trying to do the same with google home.



#7 bdub44 OFFLINE  

bdub44

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Local time: 09:36 AM

Posted 29 March 2020 - 11:56 AM

Luke,

 

I've tried that and its still a no go. I have port forwarded both routers and my NAS is not denying allowing connections.


Edited by bdub44, 29 March 2020 - 11:56 AM.


#8 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 156672 posts
  • Local time: 12:36 PM

Posted 30 March 2020 - 11:29 AM

Both routers? So you have a double NAT situation?



#9 bdub44 OFFLINE  

bdub44

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Local time: 09:36 AM

Posted 30 March 2020 - 11:51 AM

No I have one NAS. I have a cable modem router that my Orbi is connect to, Both routers as well as the firewall on my virus protection i have port forwarded to the NAS ip address which is where the emby server resides. I'm using the default of 8096. My firewall on the NAS is allowing all connections currently. I believe my external ip is static because it hasn't changed since using th ISP provider i use.



#10 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 19116 posts
  • Local time: 09:36 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 30 March 2020 - 12:01 PM

No I have one NAS. I have a cable modem router that my Orbi is connect to, Both routers as well as the firewall on my virus protection i have port forwarded to the NAS ip address which is where the emby server resides. I'm using the default of 8096. My firewall on the NAS is allowing all connections currently. I believe my external ip is static because it hasn't changed since using th ISP provider i use.

So you port forwarded your "cable modem router" to "Orbi" and "Orbi" to "NAS"?  Two Routers means double nat unless one is bridged.



#11 bdub44 OFFLINE  

bdub44

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Local time: 09:36 AM

Posted 30 March 2020 - 01:31 PM

Hi Happy,

 

I have both my cable modem router and Orbi port forwarded to the ip address of my NAS.



#12 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 19116 posts
  • Local time: 09:36 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 30 March 2020 - 01:37 PM

Hi Happy,

 

I have both my cable modem router and Orbi port forwarded to the ip address of my NAS.

You can not do that.  Each Router is on their own network.

 

https://portforward....tforwarding.htm



#13 bdub44 OFFLINE  

bdub44

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Local time: 09:36 AM

Posted 30 March 2020 - 04:37 PM

I'm a bit confused, I created a static ip om my pc My orbi isn't allowing the number that i but on my pc is takes the ip address number, But my main confusion is that i don't have two separate WAN addresses. I get the each device has it own LAN IP address but i don't see 2 separate WAN addresses as stated in the link you provided.

 

"There are TWO WANs (Wide Area Networks). If there is a LAN then there is an accompanying WAN."

 

When i ask what my ip is on either network its the same. I have my NAS connected to my Orbi via Ethernet, Since the cable modem is in another room that's why i thought that i had to port forward on that as well.


Edited by bdub44, 30 March 2020 - 04:45 PM.


#14 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 19116 posts
  • Local time: 09:36 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 30 March 2020 - 07:40 PM

I'm a bit confused, I created a static ip om my pc My orbi isn't allowing the number that i but on my pc is takes the ip address number, But my main confusion is that i don't have two separate WAN addresses. I get the each device has it own LAN IP address but i don't see 2 separate WAN addresses as stated in the link you provided.

 

"There are TWO WANs (Wide Area Networks). If there is a LAN then there is an accompanying WAN."

 

When i ask what my ip is on either network its the same. I have my NAS connected to my Orbi via Ethernet, Since the cable modem is in another room that's why i thought that i had to port forward on that as well.

What addresses do you use to access your Orbi and cable modem router and NAS?



#15 bdub44 OFFLINE  

bdub44

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Local time: 09:36 AM

Posted 30 March 2020 - 08:00 PM

for orbi 192.168.1.1

cable modem 192.168.0.1

NAS 192.168.1.11

Static ip 192.168.1.23

 

I also purchased the port forward Networking utilities to let it configure it the port checker tool says the port is closed when running the port checker utility with my firewall on or off.

Under the port finder results no tcps were found or listed

under static ip address listed as currently static which is the ip address above.

Under pf config Emby is listed both default ports listed.


Edited by bdub44, 30 March 2020 - 08:06 PM.


#16 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 19116 posts
  • Local time: 09:36 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 30 March 2020 - 08:03 PM

for orbi 192.168.1.1

cable modem 192.168.0.1

NAS 192.168.1.11

Static ip 192.168.1.23

 

I also purchased the port forward Networking utilities to let it configure it and still says the port is closed when running the port checker utility with my firewall on or off.

So your WAN address on the ORBI is something like 192.168.0.2 correct?

 

On Cable modem you need to port forward to 192.168.0.x (the ip your cable modem assigned to ORBI), then on Orbi port forward to 192.168.1.23.


Edited by Happy2Play, 30 March 2020 - 08:37 PM.


#17 bdub44 OFFLINE  

bdub44

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Local time: 09:36 AM

Posted 30 March 2020 - 09:11 PM

My orbi login is 192.168.1.1 but my ip that my cable modem assigned ias 192.168.0.13

So you're saying i should port forward on my cable modem to 192.168.0.13 just to be clear?

And should i used the default emby port of 8096?

Also with should i have created a static ip on the computer my cable modem supports?

Currently i only have a static ip for the computer that supports the ORBI and NAS.


Edited by bdub44, 30 March 2020 - 09:14 PM.


#18 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 19116 posts
  • Local time: 09:36 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 30 March 2020 - 09:38 PM

My orbi login is 192.168.1.1 but my ip that my cable modem assigned ias 192.168.0.13

So you're saying i should port forward on my cable modem to 192.168.0.13 just to be clear?

And should i used the default emby port of 8096?

Also with should i have created a static ip on the computer my cable modem supports?

Currently i only have a static ip for the computer that supports the ORBI and NAS.

That is the double nat in liked post, two separate internal network 192.168.0.x and 192.168.1.x.

 

The internet enters router 1 and has to forward port traffic from 1 to 2, then forward port traffic from 2 to destination.

 

So you port forward 8096 on Modem Router to 192.168.0.13,  and port forward 8096 on Orbi to 192.168.1.23.

 

No you do not need to port forward from modem router to pc, since the pc is not on the modem routers network.



#19 bdub44 OFFLINE  

bdub44

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Local time: 09:36 AM

Posted 30 March 2020 - 10:08 PM

I have everything running on the ORBI network. I just used the cable modem for connection via ethernet since the orbi its not a cable modem, So i'm not really running anything off the cable modem network. But i thought since my my NAS is ON 192.168.1.11 that i have to port forward everthing through it. like when i put in my port forwarding info 192.168.1.11 port 8096 that would be the internal info. Are you saying that the 192.168.0.23 port 8096 would go into the external part of the port forwarding info?



#20 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 19116 posts
  • Local time: 09:36 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 30 March 2020 - 10:28 PM

I am totally confused on what your issue is now.  Are you having External or Internal issues.  Everything I listed would provide external access to Emby assuming you are forwarding correctly to the ip Emby is hosted on.

 

Since you have a double nat every connection on the Orbi will have connection issues as the connections have to be forwarded properly from your Cable Modem Router. 






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users