Jump to content


Photo

Little confused on Emby Connect login issues


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 aaronvogel OFFLINE  

aaronvogel

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Local time: 12:51 AM

Posted 12 January 2020 - 04:06 PM

Hey there,

So I'm trying to setup the Amazon Alexa skill to connect with my QNAP Emby server. The problem I'm having is that I can't sign up for Emby Connect with the same email as my forum account, and when I go to link accounts in the server settings under my user it doesn't recognize the forum account email or username as an Emby Connect user. I can login when trying to setup the Alexa skill, but then I get no servers listed.

 

Thank,

Aaron



#2 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 146246 posts
  • Local time: 03:51 AM

Posted 13 January 2020 - 12:19 AM

Hi, it sounds like you haven't completed the Emby Connect linking process on your server:

https://github.com/M...-administrators

 

Please let us know if this helps. Thanks.



#3 aaronvogel OFFLINE  

aaronvogel

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Local time: 12:51 AM

Posted 13 January 2020 - 01:19 AM

Yeah, that's part of the problem. When I go to connect my Emby Connect email to the user account on my server it gives me an error.

 

s5e1bfddf734d7_ScreenShot20200112at120529



#4 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 146246 posts
  • Local time: 03:51 AM

Posted 13 January 2020 - 01:50 AM

Are you sure you entered the same email address as the one that is used for this forum account?



#5 aaronvogel OFFLINE  

aaronvogel

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Local time: 12:51 AM

Posted 13 January 2020 - 02:16 AM

Yep, just double checked my address in my profile settings, and just tried the same email on my user account on the server.

 

5e1c0abb3b7a3_ScreenShot20200112at101038

 

5e1c0ac628ae1_ScreenShot20200112at101106

5e1c0b4e096c2_ScreenShot20200112at101548



#6 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 146246 posts
  • Local time: 03:51 AM

Posted 13 January 2020 - 02:19 AM

Please attach the emby server log. thanks.



#7 aaronvogel OFFLINE  

aaronvogel

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Local time: 12:51 AM

Posted 13 January 2020 - 02:40 AM

See attached.

Attached Files


Edited by aaronvogel, 13 January 2020 - 02:40 AM.


#8 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 146246 posts
  • Local time: 03:51 AM

Posted 13 January 2020 - 02:42 AM

For starters, not that this should matter, but can you update to Emby Serve 4.3.1?



#9 aaronvogel OFFLINE  

aaronvogel

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Local time: 12:51 AM

Posted 13 January 2020 - 02:53 PM

Hey Luke,

I'm away from home for a few days. I'll do the update and try again Thursday. Thanks for the help.

 

BTW, I haven't forgotten about that M4A thread I was supposed to start. I just haven't had a chance to trouble shoot those files more. Will do that as soon as I can.



#10 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 146246 posts
  • Local time: 03:51 AM

Posted 13 January 2020 - 03:06 PM

Also does the server dashboard show your remote address?



#11 aaronvogel OFFLINE  

aaronvogel

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Local time: 12:51 AM

Posted 16 January 2020 - 02:57 AM

Hey Luke,

Just got home, updated, same problem.

 

Here's the log.

 

Dashboard shows LAN address, no remote info. Perhaps that's one of the things I should clarify: does Alexa access require remote access? I was hoping to keep all traffic local. I thought I recall seeing something about that at the bottom of a wiki page or something that this was the case. Perhaps I misinterpreted.

 

 

Attached Files



#12 WilhelmStroker OFFLINE  

WilhelmStroker

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 301 posts
  • Local time: 08:51 AM

Posted 16 January 2020 - 04:27 AM

Yes, you need remote access for alexa:
https://github.com/M...Wiki/wiki/Alexa
Get started
The first step is to add Emby with Alexa to your Amazon account. Once this is done, you will need Emby Connect to link your Emby account to Alexa. Emby with Alexa also requires Emby premiere.

Alexa requests are sent from outside your network. You will need to ensure your Emby server is accessible remotely.

Why is Emby connect required?
Emby connect is used to provide your server information to Alexa over a secure connection.

#13 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 146246 posts
  • Local time: 03:51 AM

Posted 17 January 2020 - 02:55 AM

^ Yes that is exactly right. Please let us know if this helps. Thanks.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users