Dell R430 for a 4k emby server?

liamlows

liamlows

Hey guys,

I'm new to the NAS/home media world and I've always been interested in building a home media server and finally decided to do it!

So I'm building a home lab for some personal game servers and webservers that i currently run in the cloud, and I've always wanted to build a home media server, so I'm throwing it into the mix as well. I heard great things about Emby and have decided to use it to stream content to my family's 4k TV's (some remote and some local). I'm currently figuring out what hardware i want to get for the Emby server and I am currently looking at potentially using a Dell Poweredge R430 w/

• 2x Intel Xeon E5-2620 V3 - 2.40GHz 6 Core
  • 32 GB (2x16GB) DDR4 RAM
  • PERC H330 RAID Controller
  • 4x2TB 6GB/s SAS drives

I was wondering how you guys think it will handle with streaming 4k video? I've seen a couple of posts saying that using a rack server like this would be less ideal than say a 17-9700k because of transcoding. If I'm to understand it correctly though, its only an issue when you try to play a video that is not supported by the client. Say a 4k video on a 1080p smart TV. If the client supports the file format it is able to play it easily, right? The server would have a load of up to ~4 clients at a time. Do you guys think its overkill? Not powerful enough? Please let me know what you think.

Thanks!

mastrmind11

yeah that's likely overkill if you're talking a dedicated emby box.  and your assumptions are correct re direct playing/transcoding content.  also keep in mind that depending on your upload bandwidth, your external clients may have to transcode as well.

• Like 1

liamlows

yeah that's likely overkill if you're talking a dedicated emby box.  and your assumptions are correct re direct playing/transcoding content.  also keep in mind that depending on your upload bandwidth, your external clients may have to transcode as well.