5 or 6 bay recommendations?

Bigmack3000

Bigmack3000

Hey, looking through ebay for a 5 or 6 bay synology drive, there seems to be quite a few different model numbers.  Any ones to specifically look for or avoid?

Happy2Play

I would guess use case would make a difference.  Will it just be media storage or server and storage?

Bigmack3000

I'm brand new to this, but storage for my dvds/blu rays, and streaming inside my house. Mayyyybe I try it for streaming in other houses, but I think that'd be down the line.

FrostByte

Are you planning on putting Emby server on the NAS, or is it just holding your media? 

If you want to run Emby server on your NAS I recommend something in the plus series like the DS1019+ or DS1618+ because both have Intel processors and would stay away from anything with a Realtek processor.  An Intel processor will be better for transcoding which can be very hard on a NAS.  Even the DS1019+ will struggle with transcoding 4K to 4K and has the same Celeron processor as the DS918+ which has been known in here to be slow at times when transcoding 4K to 4K.  The DS1618+ with an Atom processor should do better.

Both the DS1019+ and DS1618+ will take the 5-bay expansion cabinet down the road too if needed.  I never thought I would fill up my 4-bay model with 8TB drives, but here I am getting messages about my total space being taken up within a year.

https://www.synology.com/en-uk/knowledgebase/DSM/tutorial/Compatibility_Peripherals/What_kind_of_CPU_does_my_NAS_have

Edited by FrostByte

Bigmack3000

If 99% of its use will be streaming mkv files to my TV, would transcoding still be a common occurrence?  I don't have current plans to really stream to my phone.  Does Realtek handle 1080p fine? 

FrostByte