Thinking of going to Emby Premier - Will it do what I need?

MickeyRat

MickeyRat

This might not be the right place to post this.  I'm okay with it being moved to another place.  I'm also okay with being told I'm in the wrong forum provided someone suggests the right forum.

I'm a recently retired programmer/DBA.  So, I'm not afraid of tech.

I have a media server running Arch Linux and MythTV.  I used Plex to serve up my movies for a couple years but, switched to Emby several months ago.  Good job on that, the switch was practically painless.  I have 2 HDHomerun HDHR4-2US tuners and I'm running Kodi as my frontend at the TVs.  Suddenly Myth is unable to tune to some channels.  Everything else that can access those tuners can watch those channels fine and I'm not getting any help.  So, I'm thinking it's time to switch to Emby Premier for the DVR features.  MythTV is pretty tricky to keep running anyway.

What I must have:

• Nothing on Windows.
  • Either Kodi or a frontend that a tech illiterate can use.
  • A good way to schedule recordings from any PC on my LANi.  For Myth, Kodi isn't adequate.  It's possible it will be with Emby.  I don't know.

Strong preferences;

• Able to run completely on my LAN without an outside internet connection.
  • A way to get directly at the database either through SQL (preferred) or some set of APIs that are reasonably well documented..

I'll probably be moving from Arch to Manjaro as part of this.  Arch is a bit finicky for a server that has my wife anywhere in the loop.

So, can Emby do the above?  Any pointers to migration guides?

Edited by MickeyRat

@@MickeyRat,

Yes you will need Emby Premiere to use the TV functionality but it so worth it!

Myth is a pain in the but to keep running as you've found out, Emby, just works and works well with the HDHomerun devices.  I have two hooked up to cable, 1 to an antenna and also use IPTV as well.  Emby handles this just fine.