External hard drive not recognized

phydeaux24
Go to solution Solved by Luke,

phydeaux24

I'm new to Emby so please take it easy on me.  Fresh install of Emby on Linux Mint Tessa.  All my media is stored on an external 4tb drive.  When trying to add a folder Emby simply doesn't see the drive.  I can navigate to and play my media just fine from file manager.  Am I missing something here?

phydeaux24

Hi, did you try to enter the path to the drive manually?

Sure did:

The path could not be found. Please ensure the path is valid and try again.

It sounds like emby server does not have read permission to the drive. Did you check permissions for the emby user?

• Solution

When emby server is installed it creates an emby user on your machine, so the emby user will need permission to this location. What are the current permissions of the drive?

• Like 1

mastrmind11

@@mastrmind11 How would I go about doing that?  Apparently you're going to need to get out the crayons, this may be a long thread. 

ok lets start with the basics.  navigate to the root your media folder via the command interface and type ls -l.  this will output the directories and the owner of the folders/files.

phydeaux24

What was the solution?

chmod -R a+rx /media/jeff/Media Storage

works like a champ but now I have a separate issue where Emby is not finding new movies I add to the library.  It picks up music and tv shows just fine, all stored on the same /Media Server drive. 

mastrmind11

chmod -R a+rx /media/jeff/Media Storage

works like a champ but now I have a separate issue where Emby is not finding new movies I add to the library.  It picks up music and tv shows just fine, all stored on the same /Media Server drive.