Jump to content


Photo

Auto decision for transcoding way to low

Transcoding

  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 Wuast94 OFFLINE  

Wuast94

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 01 June 2019 - 04:04 PM

My emby server only go up to 720p 1,5mbps on auto decision transcoding but I can manually go up to 4k 40 mbps without problems or buffering. Hw acceleratet transcoder (up to hevc for encoding and decoding) and 50mbps upload.

So why is emby not go higher in quality and Bitrate? It can be so much more than that what emby think is good.

#2 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 14690 posts
  • Local time: 02:12 PM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 01 June 2019 - 04:07 PM

You will need to post server and ffmpeg logs.



#3 Wuast94 OFFLINE  

Wuast94

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 01 June 2019 - 04:17 PM

You will need to post server and ffmpeg logs.

 

wich parts from this logs are neccesary ?  dont wnat to post full logs becouse of sensitiv data 



#4 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 14690 posts
  • Local time: 02:12 PM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 01 June 2019 - 04:20 PM

wich parts from this logs are neccesary ?  dont wnat to post full logs becouse of sensitiv data 

 

You can PM logs to the admin (Luke) if you would prefer.  He usually needs/wants to see the full log.



#5 Wuast94 OFFLINE  

Wuast94

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 01 June 2019 - 04:28 PM

i hope this helps

Attached File  embylog.txt   578.76KB   3 downloads

Attached File  ffmpeg.txt   809.94KB   3 downloads

 

i replaced user names .. ips domains api keys etc with placeholders ..  but that shouldnt be a problem i think


Edited by Wuast94, 01 June 2019 - 04:29 PM.


#6 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 14690 posts
  • Local time: 02:12 PM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 01 June 2019 - 04:34 PM

To me you have a bitrate limit set somewhere.
 

 Bitrate exceeds DirectStream limit: media bitrate: 30757557, max bitrate: 1500000

http://xxxxxxxxxxxxxx:xxx/Items/60/PlaybackInfo?UserId=xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx&StartTimeTicks=0&IsPlayback=false&AutoOpenLiveStream=false&MaxStreamingBitrate=1500000

What client are you using? 

 

Do you have a user or server "Internet streaming bitrate limit" set? per user or global Dashboard-Advanced-Hosting menu

 

Client quality settings will never override limits set on the server.


Edited by Happy2Play, 01 June 2019 - 04:38 PM.


#7 Wuast94 OFFLINE  

Wuast94

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 01 June 2019 - 04:41 PM

i didnt set any limit. and on ios app i didnt use a limit too :/ or is it set anywere as default ? 

 

 

5cf2e2d6b178d_Unbenannt.png



#8 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 14690 posts
  • Local time: 02:12 PM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 01 June 2019 - 05:34 PM

Transcoding option have nothing to do with this.  You need to verify the two "Internet streaming bitrate limit" options. (Per user and/or Dashboard-Advanced-Hosting menu)

Internet streaming bitrate limit (Mbps):

An optional per-stream bitrate limit for all out of network devices. This is useful to prevent devices from requesting a higher bitrate than your internet connection can handle. This may result in increased CPU load on your server in order to transcode videos on the fly to a lower bitrate.
This will override the default global value set in advanced server settings.

But this sounds like the same discussion in another topic specific to IOS.  I will have to look around to see if I can find other topics.


Edited by Happy2Play, 01 June 2019 - 05:37 PM.


#9 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 131280 posts
  • Local time: 05:12 PM

Posted 01 June 2019 - 08:56 PM

On a remote connection, the automatic bitrate detection tends to be pretty conservative.



#10 Wuast94 OFFLINE  

Wuast94

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 02 June 2019 - 02:30 AM

Transcoding option have nothing to do with this.  You need to verify the two "Internet streaming bitrate limit" options. (Per user and/or Dashboard-Advanced-Hosting menu)

Internet streaming bitrate limit (Mbps):

An optional per-stream bitrate limit for all out of network devices. This is useful to prevent devices from requesting a higher bitrate than your internet connection can handle. This may result in increased CPU load on your server in order to transcode videos on the fly to a lower bitrate.
This will override the default global value set in advanced server settings.

But this sounds like the same discussion in another topic specific to IOS.  I will have to look around to see if I can find other topics.

 

this aren't set too. I set it to 50 mbps now but before there was no value.



#11 Wuast94 OFFLINE  

Wuast94

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 02 June 2019 - 02:33 AM

On a remote connection, the automatic bitrate detection tends to be pretty conservative.

ok .. is it possible to add settings for auto transcoding decision in future ? would be nice to tweak that a bit my self to get  "more aggressive" decisions to get faster to better quality :) 

are there more infos about how auto decision works ? 



#12 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 131280 posts
  • Local time: 05:12 PM

Posted 02 June 2019 - 02:18 PM

It performs some quick download tests with the emby server. Yes we'll look at improving this, thanks.



#13 kikinjo OFFLINE  

kikinjo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 210 posts
  • Local time: 11:12 PM

Posted 02 June 2019 - 02:33 PM

If this settings could be more controllable by server admin it would be great feature.



#14 ebr ONLINE  

ebr

    Chief Bottle Washer

  • Administrators
  • 45296 posts
  • Local time: 05:12 PM

Posted 03 June 2019 - 11:35 AM

If this settings could be more controllable by server admin it would be great feature.

 

What would you control?  I'm not sure there is any way for the server admin to know what any specific client's network condition will be at some time in the future...



#15 deallier OFFLINE  

deallier

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 74 posts
  • Local time: 11:12 PM

Posted 03 June 2019 - 02:24 PM

Hi

i do have the same problem and it is not the setttings on a 12 mbps line it will set it self to transcode  at 1.5mbps for something that would direct play at 3 - 4 mbps

not sure what can be done about it as all lines a different

 

thanks



#16 Wuast94 OFFLINE  

Wuast94

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 04 June 2019 - 08:02 AM

What would you control?  I'm not sure there is any way for the server admin to know what any specific client's network condition will be at some time in the future...

 

I would like to tweak settings for auto decisions to make it more aggressive for example or set steps for next quality and many more. so I can set it as I need. actually it is not good for me as you can read above ^^



#17 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 14690 posts
  • Local time: 02:12 PM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 04 June 2019 - 12:44 PM

But isn't that what the manual options are for?



#18 kikinjo OFFLINE  

kikinjo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 210 posts
  • Local time: 11:12 PM

Posted 04 June 2019 - 01:08 PM

What would you control?  I'm not sure there is any way for the server admin to know what any specific client's network condition will be at some time in the future...

 

Auto settings which now are pretty mysterious :) Last night i played bluray mkv, 3,5 GB file in my local network on android emby client (bitrate on auto), it was transcoded because "bitrate too high". Maybe i dont understand this settings about bit rate settings that you guys are talking about, but this is nonsense that movie was transcoded in my lan on 1 gbit connection.



#19 ebr ONLINE  

ebr

    Chief Bottle Washer

  • Administrators
  • 45296 posts
  • Local time: 05:12 PM

Posted 04 June 2019 - 01:15 PM

Auto settings which now are pretty mysterious :)

 

There really isn't a lot of mystery to it.

 

 

It performs some quick download tests with the emby server. Yes we'll look at improving this, thanks.

 

The process can be improved but I don't really know how we could add much in the way of configuration settings on the server side to improve it.



#20 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 14690 posts
  • Local time: 02:12 PM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 04 June 2019 - 01:18 PM

Auto settings which now are pretty mysterious :) Last night i played bluray mkv, 3,5 GB file in my local network on android emby client (bitrate on auto), it was transcoded because "bitrate too high". Maybe i dont understand this settings about bit rate settings that you guys are talking about, but this is nonsense that movie was transcoded in my lan on 1 gbit connection.

Only a log would show what Emby is doing.  







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Transcoding

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users