Question about reverse proxy

aahmyu

aahmyu

Hello, Thanks to thee guides here i managed to setup a reverse proxy server using nginx for my servers.

I have a couple of questions though:

1-  When i access emby.mydomain.com locally does the request go through the internet? i did a ping test and when pinging my domain locally i getting the same ping as i ping emby local address. But im a bit noob when it comes to this so im just double checking here.

2-  This is why im actually posting here. when i access emby from my domain locally the logs display my external ip address which is not wrong because my domain resolves to my external ip, my question is, is it possible to get the client real ip address like 192.168.1.55 when i access locally instead of my external ip?

Thanks

I would check the server activity viewer in the server dashboard, where it shows the ip address. What does it say there?

aahmyu

When I'm at home it displays the router external ip no matter what device I use. And remotely it displays the ip I'm connecting from.

Maybe what I'm asking is not possible?

I'm trying to find a way to display the correct internal ip when I'm at home instead of displaying router external ip all the time

darkassassin07

The way I achieved this was by setting the host name of the device my nginx server is running on to be the same as my domain name.

In my routers configuration, devices that have been given a dhcp reservation (for a static ip address) also have the option to specify a hostname. Seprate from that there is also a box for custom dnsmasq parameters that I have hostname/ip address combinations in.

Because of this, devices that try my domain name while on lan are given the lan ip of the nginx server instead of my wan ip.

Im sure there are other ways as well, but im a bit of a noob myself :)

Hope that helps a bit

/edit for this method to work you have to be using the same port for lan/wan access.

Example:

Mydomain.com:443 on wan