Local actor thumbnail in NFO

bluestripe
Go to solution Solved by PenkethBoy,

bluestripe

Hello,

I'm a newbie to Emby, this may be an already answered matter.

What I'm trying to do:

Use locally stored image(.jpg) as actor thumbnail using NFO file without manually uploading image using browser.

As far as I know

1. "People" folder is deprecated, and now manually uploaded actor thumbnails are stored in "Library" folder.

2. You can't insert URL in NFO file like this.

<actor>
<name>Example Name</name>
<role>Example Role</role>
<type>Actor</type>
<thumb>http://example.com/example.jpg</thumb>
</actor>

3. You can't insert local image using full path in NFO file like this.

<actor>
<name>Example Name</name>
<role>Example Role</role>
<type>Actor</type>
<thumb>/mnt/myServer/actors/example.jpg</thumb>
</actor>

4. You can' use .actor folder like Kodi.

5. There isn't a way upload actor picture using API.

Is this correct understanding?

I use self-made scripts to generate custom NFO files of movies, so if there is a way to embed local image in NFO, I would like to know.

Also, I believe file path of uploaded pictures are stored in Libray.db.

Is there any way to access those information using API etc.? because if it is, I can write a script to replace those pictures with my own pictures with the same file names.

Edited by bluestripe

PenkethBoy

Hi

Welcome

Yes the api can upload/change images for actors as well as other items - if done this way the files are stored in the metadata\library folder and the db gets updated - same as if you did it manually via the web app

And yes you can access their path locations - but if you did the above they would already be updated

Have a read of this to get you started

https://github.com/MediaBrowser/Emby/wiki

And also check out Swagger - go to you server dashboard and at the bottom of the page are four links - use the API one and it will take you to Swagger - where amongst other things it allows you to try api calls etc