Newbie Needing Help

DLD

Hi,

I am new to FreeNAS and new to Emby. After installing FreeNAS I copied all of my media over to it. I then installed the Emby plugin and think I followed the various YouTube videos on how to get the Emby plugin to see the dataset where the videos are stored. This seemed to work in so far as, when I created the library and selected TV Shows, Emby seemed to display the file location of where the videos reside. I then told Emby to scan the library but nothing appeared in the library.

The structure of the file system has top level folders called Film and TV. Under TV I have sub-folders of Documentaries, Drama etc. Under these I have a directory for each show.

All of the files are .TS files and I thought maybe Emby could not read those, so I converted one file to ,MP4 but Emby still does not seem to find it.

What am I doing wrong?

Also, Emby only seems to have fixed categories of TV, Movies etc. I buy various videos that don't fit into any of the Emby categories. For example, I have a large number of training videos on various topics. I would like to create a category for those and then have sub-folders (sub-catagories) for these based on the type of training. Can Emby do this?

Thanks,

DLD

PhilWhite

Hi,

Luke would better answer this, but your file structure might be an issue.  It is actually easier to set this up with all of your TV under one big directory, but you can do it with what you have.

What Emby wants to see is not a directory/folder but your actual files.

So, for TV you can set up several TV sections and then label them not as TV but as TV Documentary, TV Drama, etc.  The "TV" section is important primarily for where to look for metadata.  So, for all of your TV subfolders you would want to use the TV section, but just label them to suit your needs for what is actually in that subfolder.