Another "Can't connect remotely" thread

fasfivo

Relative noob here.  I'm not a "computer guy", but can usually get things working after some googling.  I was a Plex user for a few years and worked through some issues there.  Left Plex a couple weeks ago and don'g plan to go back.  I'm super happy with Emby so far and have learned a lot. 

I've spent quite a lot of time on this and still can't get remote access to my Emby Server.  It works fine on all devices within our network, but can't access from outside.  I'm new to port forwarding and generally don't mess with firewall settings, but have tried both and I "think" I have them set up correctly, but who knows . . . 

I read and re-read the "Connection WIKI" and also read through several similar threads where folks had issues with external connections.  I do have the Emby Connect app on my iPhone.  I see the icon for my Emby server, but when I try to connect, I get the "We're unable to connect to the selected server . . ." message.

I used the links provided on my Emby dashboard to set up my Router and Firewall.

31497265577_6d1267cd49.jpg

I've set up 8096 port forwarding on our Router.

32564649718_5b3e6198b6.jpg

No luck. 

So I accessed our Firewall settings and created an inbound rule to allow access to port 8096 (I think).  I do notice there are 3 rules for Emby and the only one I set up manually was the one labeled "EMBY", so not sure how the other two got there?  Could have been me, as I was in there several times and really didn't know what I was doing.

45524132275_269c128033_z.jpg

Any help appreciated.

Happy2Play

I do notice there are 3 rules for Emby and the only one I set up manually was the one labeled "EMBY", so not sure how the other two got there?  Could have been me, as I was in there several times and really didn't know what I was doing.

Any help appreciated.

Firewall rules were applied during install / first run of embyserver.exe.  At least for Windows, can't comment on other OSes.