6 replies to this topic

#1 Trippitaka OFFLINE  

Trippitaka

• Members
  • 4 posts
  • Local time: 01:03 AM

Posted 06 December 2018 - 07:35 PM

Hi All,

I'm new to Emby and new to the forum. I recently signed up to Emby as I've heard a few people say that it is as good a media server to use as Plex, which I have been using a year or two. Recently they overhauled Plex and it literally no longer works, plus the company aren't even interested in responding to me, hence it was time for a change.

When I signed up and tried to get onto Emby on the PS4, first of all I just really struggled, then a thing popped up saying I needed to pay $5 for "Emby Premiere" (still not sure if I needed that or if I was duped). There then followed a really sweary frustrating time when it kept advising me to visit links that I couldn't click so I needed to open up new windows, write down the URL then type it in. Then I was asked to type in a massively long code which there was no way to copy paste so I had to go back to the PC, sort that out and then come back to the PS4.

I'm on a tangent - I can get through the difficulties and annoyances and frustrations if it means I eventually work things out, but all this I was doing because Emby keeps on referring to a PS4 app, but when I search for it there's nothing and each time I chase after the links on the website it keeps just directing to me to a URL where I can get to my content.

It's seeming fairly certain to me now that there is no app, but please could someone let me know if I am understanding this wrong because surely they would not have references to a PS4 app all over the website and even a forum room for a Playstation App if one didn't exist?? I have no interest in using this software if I have to do so by opening up a browser window each time, navigating to the page and using a PS4 browser window which fills little more than half of the screen.