Rendering SD 25fps interlaced to 50fps progressive - possible?

grazza2a

I'm a long-time and avid user of Emby since its MediaBrowser days - love it. However, I've got a couple of queries about how video content is served to ROKUs - I'm not an experienced programmer but understand enough - so, apologies if this sounds a little basic or newbie-ish. I own a ROKU 4 that is set to display at the same fps as the source material.

Most of my content is ripped directly from DVD source. Based in the UK, this means that files are generally original MPEG2 files wrapped in an MKV container - ie, they're not transcoded to another video codec. Video is generally 720x576 at 25fps interlaced - for content produced on video as opposed to film.

Query 1: As MPEG2 content will not play natively on a ROKU, I am reliant on Emby transcoding it on-the-fly. I'm happy with this as as solution as I don't really want to prepare different versions for different renderers (I don't have the hard drive space or the time). Does Emby transcode the size of UK PAL SD video to 640x480 and if so, is there an option to transcode keeping the same dimensions as the source material? UK PAL being slightly different to NTSC (please correct me if my assumptions here are wrong).

Query 2 and more importantly to me: When Emby transcodes content to play on the ROKU it appears to dinterlace 25fps video to 25fps progressive. Video looses the smooth playback aesthetic in favour of a "filmic" look. Can Emby transcode on-the-fly 25fps interlaced to 50fps progressive for SD video - and if so - how?

Hope the above makes sense and I'm sure there is a setting or metadata entry I am missing to allow the above.

Thanks in advance.

Okay, thanks for the quick reply. At least it's not something I wasn't doing  ;) Is it something that could be considered for a future release?

A1) http://forums.roku.com/viewtopic.php?t=114433