Problem with HDR with a 4K UHD movie (Emby vs Plex)

bamaster

bamaster

Hello all,

I'm pretty new to Emby but I've been running Plex on a Windows PC for several years. I've been impressed with Emby's transcoding so I switched recently. Alas, I an into an issue with HDR with one video. I don't have a lot of UHD content, but I'm not able to watch A Quiet Place with HDR. Using Plex it looks great. But Emby shows a little washed out. Here are some photos.

A Quiet Place

post-333125-0-58198400-1532004468_thumb.jpg

My TV is the LG OLED 55B7V. Interestingly, the "HDR" logo pops up on the TV set indicating that it's receiving an HDR signal, but the movie isn't displaying it. So I thought Emby wasn't configured for HDR properly, however Planet Earth looks perfect in both Emby and Plex.

Media Stats

Video
Title: 4K HEVC
Codec: HEVC
Profile: Main 10
Level: 153
Resolution: 3840x1600
Aspect ratio: 2.40:1
Anamorphic: No
Interlaced: No
Framerate: 23.9760246
Bitrate: 25283 kbps
Video range: HDR
Color primaries: bt2020
Color space: bt2020nc
Color transfer: smpte2084
Pixel format: yuv420p10le
Ref frames: 1

Audio
Title: Eng TRUEHD 7.1 Default
Language: eng
Codec: TRUEHD
Layout: 7.1
Channels: 8 ch
Sample rate: 48000 Hz
Bit depth: 24 bit
Default: Yes

Audio
Title: Eng Dolby Digital 5.1
Codec: AC3
Layout: 5.1
Channels: 6 ch
Bitrate: 640 kbps
Default: No

Subtitle
Title: Eng
Codec: SRT
Default: No
Forced: No
External: Yes
Container: mkv
Path: D:\Movies\A Quiet Place (2018) [4K]\A Quiet Place (2018) [4K].mkv

Here's Planet Earth II, Episode 1. HDR looks great!

post-333125-0-49294500-1532004508_thumb.jpg

I do have "Enable Refresh Rate Switching" enabled, and "Prefer Exact Refresh Rate" enabled, too. I've tried turning it off, same result. Here's the Media Info:

Media Info
Video
Title: 4K HEVC
Codec: HEVC
Profile: Main 10
Level: 150
Resolution: 3840x2160
Aspect ratio: 16:9
Anamorphic: No
Interlaced: No
Framerate: 25
Bitrate: 32674 kbps
Video range: HDR
Color primaries: bt2020