Https: Is Emby secure?

darkassassin07

darkassassin07

Hello everyone :)

Just going to start by saying I am by no means an expert on this topic, until about a month ago I was naive enough to think "It says https:// and there is a green lock so it must be secure".

I'm just hoping to spark some conversation in an effort to improve things and expand my knowledge.

With that out of the way:

I have been doing some testing using the SSL Test from Qualys SSL Labs against the https port provided by the Emby server on 5 different OSs:

Windows 7 (Professional and Ultimate), Windows 10, Ubuntu, Elementary, and FreeBSD.

In all cases I'm using the exact same certificate (.pfx) which contains my certificate and the CA cert from lets encrypt. The servers were all running on VMware VMs with freshly installed and fully updated OSs following the Download Instructions. (Except Win 7 Pro, that is my current server). other than adding the domain name and cert to emby there was no other configuration done.

Here are the images I captured of the test results for each server. (Dropbox folder, they are pretty large)

Starting with the best results, Windows 10:

This was the only OS to receive an 'A', the only negatives being the re-use of Diffie-Hellman parameters and the option for a couple weak ciphers though the server prefers the stronger ones. Both 'issues' are quite minor as far as I understand.

Next up we have Ubuntu and Elementary:

Both of these OSs received the same results, a 'C'.

These support the insecure protocol SSL v3 and only except weak and/or insecure ciphers.

They do not support forward secrecy meaning once a key is compromised all past and future traffic can be decrypted.

And they do not serve the full chain, only the main certificate.

Windows 7.... Oh windows 7....

This OS (both pro and ult) gets an 'F' as it supports both SSL v2 and SSL v3. These protocols are outdated and susceptible to attack.