Remove media from library without deleting?

kexxa

kexxa

Hi,

I'm new to Emby; on Version 3.4.1.0

When I try to delete either a media or collection in Emby, it warns "Deleting this item will delete it from both the file system and your media library". Not wanting to delete the file from my NAS, I did not proceed and clicked cancel.

emby.png

In Plex, there's an option that allows for removal without deletion.

plex.png

Is there an option to have Emby remove a media from the library without deleting it the file off the NAS? 

Hi, we don't currently have a way of doing this, but there are numerous techniques at your disposal  to  hide it.

kexxa

Hi, we don't currently have a way of doing this, but there are numerous techniques at your disposal  to  hide it.

I am unable to locate any options in settings to hide them. Would you be so kind as to direct me to these techniques please?

You could use a .ignore file in the folder if the item you want gone is contained within a folder or you could simply move the item to another location on your NAS - outside of any Emby library.

• Like 1

PeteMB

Curently hidding a folder or a media file doesn't work anymore. Only placing a .ignore file in a folder works.

kexxa

Thank you all for the .ignore pointer  :)

Is a way to remove collection(s) that were auto created?

Delete them and then uninstall the auto box set plugin. Why did you install that plugin, were you expecting something else?

kexxa

Delete them and then uninstall the auto box set plugin. Why did you install that plugin, were you expecting something else?

If I attempt to delete the offending collection, I get the message "Deleting this item will delete it from both the file system and your media library." Will deleting the collection also delete the files off my NAS?

I would like to have some collections on display just not some auto created ones like this

Snipaste_2018_05_18_17_53_03.png