DrivePool

dcook

dcook

My current Emby Server uses Raid, I am looking to build a new server and use DrivePool instead.

Most of the motherboards I have been looking at have either 4 or 6 SATA ports.  

What do you all use with DrivePool to get all the SATA ports?

I was looking to put in 10 x 4TB SATA Drives in total.

Thanks!

CBers

Not DriveBender ;)

I have 2 raid cards with 4->1 connections.

So 2 raid cards = 8 drives.

KMBanana

If you're planning to have any redundancy I would avoid DrivePool for 10 drives.  Raid 5 allows you to lose 1 disk by sacrificing the storage capacity of 1 drive so the available storage would be 90% of your capacity.  Raid 6 allows you to lose 2 disks at the cost of 2 disks worth, leaving you with 80% of your capacity available. 

DrivePool though duplicates everything to give redundancy, so it's a 50% loss.  You'd only have the available storage of 5 of your drives.  

dcook

I have been using RAID for 15 years and looking to build something better and more future-proof so to speak.

RAID performance is now substantially less that what I can get using more advanced systems like DrivePool or DriveBender

Also I want to be able to add more various sized disks and not have to rebuild a RAID Array

So basically what you are all saying I can use any SATA RAID card as long as it has JBOD mode and that will work fine for DrivePool or DriveBender?

PenkethBoy

If you're planning to have any redundancy I would avoid DrivePool for 10 drives.  Raid 5 allows you to lose 1 disk by sacrificing the storage capacity of 1 drive so the available storage would be 90% of your capacity.  Raid 6 allows you to lose 2 disks at the cost of 2 disks worth, leaving you with 80% of your capacity available. 

DrivePool though duplicates everything to give redundancy, so it's a 50% loss.  You'd only have the available storage of 5 of your drives.  

so 33 drives is a bad idea then - lol