FreeNAS 11 + Emby Server (jail) No Playback

DrDoom

Hello @ all,

i am new to FreeBSD/FreeNAS and the jail concept so please be kind.

My FreeNAS Box (Pentium G4560T/16GB ECC RAM/ASUS P10S-I and some WD RED's) run's fine for week now but i am not

able to playback files over Browser or TV app.

I used the plugin installer provided by FreeNAS and was able to point emby to my media files. Emby searched through it and display

me everything very nice but if i want to play a file it tells me 

"Playback Error. No compatible streams are currently available. Please try again later or contact your system administrator for details."

In the Server-Log i found 

Application directory: /usr/pbi/emby-amd64/lib/emby-server

System.Exception: Error starting ffmpeg

My question is - why do i get a ffmpeg log if the server cannot start ffmpeg?

Google didn't find that problem so i need your help to solve it.

Emby i the only plugin i want to use so system resources should be ok.

I restarted 5 or more times both emby and freenas and installed new freenas version 11-1 U2 totay and reinstalled emby but the problem 

is still the same

Thank you in advance

BR DrDoom

ffmpeg-log.txt

server-log.txt

• Like 1

Hi, it looks like your ffmpeg build is not built with smb:// support. You will need to add this to your installed ffmpeg on freenas.

We have BSD instructions for ffmpeg:

https://emby.media/freebsd-server.html

But the process for freenas might be different. I'll check with our package maintainer. thanks.

• Like 1

josh4trunks

As far as i understand the emby plugin for FreeNAS has smb support included. I see the SMB option was added to ffmpeg since July 2017, so i doubt an old build is the issue here.

Luke do you know the ffmpeg command to see what compiler options ffmpeg was built with?

• Like 1

As far as i understand the emby plugin for FreeNAS has smb support included. I see the SMB option was added to ffmpeg since July 2017, so i doubt an old build is the issue here.