Transcode 3D to 2D

Vidman

Vidman

Is this or will this be possible in the future... if a movie is flagged as 3dsbs or 3dtab can / will mb3 server transcode it to 2d for non 3d devices or to watch in 2d on 3d devices

Edited by Vidman
  • Like 2

• 5 months later...
  • 1 month later...
Vidman

...so not much interest in this obviously so I'm just wondering what other users do. ..do you all just manually transcode 3d movies to 2d and have two versions of the movie in your library?

3D in general is still niche, for home. Until we get to a point where we have glasses free 3d, i doubt it'll get much traction outside of a theatre setting.

If they put a poll on features - i'd would much much much rather see mobile sync added. With the cost of mobile bandwidth, i'm sure a lot more people would find that useful.

As for me - I don't have any 3D content - and will more than likely keep it that way for the time being.

techywarrior

I don't have any 3D movies so I'm not an expert about this at all but from reading the forums here it sounds like there are two things:

1. There is a 3D format that supports 2D and 3D. Perhaps if possible you should store your movies in that format.

2. There is support in MB for having a 2D and 3D version of the movie in the same folder if named correctly. (you may have to lookup the exact details tho). Of course this will require you to make the 2D version manually.

3D didn't catch on when they tried it in the 50s, 60s, 80s, or now. It has always been a fad and although the technology is much better now then it was in the past I still think it's a fad. Even manufacturers have basically given up on residential 3D. When was the last time you saw a commercial for a 3D TV? Now it's all 4K and silly curved displays (which also add nothing but detract from the experience).

• Like 1

• 2 years later...

sorry for bumping such an  old thread ;)