Ebook Metadata (late 2017 Status)

mtjj

So, I've tried reading old threads about this, but I can't tell what is working now and what is not, a lot of them refer to a bookshelf plugin that seems to be no longer available? Or at least I can't find it. Hoping someone can tell me what's what :-)

Is there any way to get metadata from a local file to display with books? Author, publisher, series, etc. I understand there is no way to scrape metadata as we don't have a source available* but I'm happy to put the data in manually if necessary. Not looking for anything special, just a way to browse by Author / Genre / tag / whatever as is the case with movies and TV.

Or is this something that is no longer possible?

*I think the librarything API might work for book metadata - see https://www.librarything.com/services/ but I am not a developer so I can't be certain. There is a limit of 1,000 calls per day, so probably individual users would need to sign up for an API key, but it seems to have calls for the basics - send an ISBN or name and get back book ("work") details. But I know books are low priority so I'm not expecting this anytime soon :-)

fbrassin

This is a question a wanted to ask too.

I tried last week but didn't find a solution.

Moreover, is there a way to read book directly in emby?

• 3 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...

Thanks Luke, as I said in the original post, just being able to access and browse metadata from files would be a great starting point, the auto scraping can come later :-)

StrykeCC

When the Time comes i'd be happy to test this out. Calibre has always provided metadata.opf  or <title>.OPF files with all the book metadata I look for. 

Its a uniform format, preset fields, XML, and always present. 

• 2 months later...
SomethinLikeDis