Disk Activity/Latency when running Emby in a VM on Hyper-V

RedBaron164

RedBaron164

I've been running Emby in a VM on Hyper-V for a couple of years now. Recently I've been trying to resolve some disk activity/latency issues that have been causing delays while loading and moving around in Emby from various clients. I think I've finally found my solution and wanted to share what I learned on the off chance it might help someone else.

Long story short, move the cache/metadata/transcode-temp directory to a separate virtual hard disk (vhd).

I noticed that when an Emby client would take a long time to load or start to timeout, disk activity on the server would jump noticeably. I also found that running the disk cleanup task would cause the same kind of usage. While monitoring the disk performance in task manager and resource monitor I would see that disk activity would max out, the disk queue length would be around .90 - 1.5 and average response time for the disk would hit 500ms. All this even though the disk throughput was only being reported at about 500kbps.