Jump to content
Beav

Remove movie form collection

Recommended Posts

Beav

1) I accidentally put a movie in the wrong collection. How do I remove it from the collection and not completely delete it from my files?


 


 Every time I try and delete the movie from the collection I get a pop up stating that if I delete the movie from the collection it will delete it from all my files as well. NOT COOL!


 


 2) Can I delete a collection – just the collection and not the movies?


 



Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
ebr

The message needs to be improved in that situation.  If you are removing it from a collection, that is all that will happen.

 

Also, removing the collection will just remove the collection and not the containing movies.

 

Thanks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Luke

Did you click the trash can delete icon or remove from collection? You can learn how to remove from a collection by checking out the collections wiki:

 

https://github.com/MediaBrowser/Wiki/wiki/Collections

 

Let us know if this helps. thanks !

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Angus Black

The message needs to be improved in that situation. 

The message is still "Deleting this item will delete it from both the file system and your media library. Are you sure you wish to continue?" when deleting a collection.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
crusher11

Surely editing the XML file is the easiest way to do it?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Luke

No, you can do this from the web interface on the collection screen

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Angus Black

Deleting from web interface on the collection screen works very well.

 

My post was just a response to ebr.

In May 2017 he said the message had to be improved. It hasn't improved yet. :)

 

The reason I found this thread is because I was worried that deleting a collection was going to delete my movies.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Luke

Thanks for the feedback.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Happy2Play

Before v4 the pop-up notice was actually true for Legacy/named [boxset] Collections (media got deleted).  Since Legacy Collections are no longer honored, Emby removes the item from the virtual collection.

 

So that pop-up notice can safely be updated now.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×
×
  • Create New...