Complete Newb Looking for Guidance on Emby/Kodi

WannaTheater

WannaTheater

I have been using Kodi for many years.  My setup is as follows:

1) 12TB Unraid storage array- purely used as storage.  All movies, TV series, etc, are stored with NFOs, artwork, etc, stored locally (each movie has NFO, fanart, poster).  Movies are mp4s. mkvs (some HEVC), and DVD Rips (VIDEO_TS)

2) Movies are accessed by a HTPC (Windows7), and 3 Fire TVs.  The HTPC, and fire TVs all have THEIR OWN installations of Kodi.

3) I have a separate PC which I use for scraping new media (using Kodi scrapers).  I then export the metadata, fanart, etc, into individual files (in movie directories).  Then I copy those directories to the storage array.  ... but as you guess, now all individual Kodi libraries need to be manually updated.  It is basically a time consuming mess.

End goal:

1) Have a consolidated/centralized database

2) When I add media (with corresponding Kodi-generated NFOs), the consolidated Kodi library will be auto-updated so all FIre TVs will see the updated library to play media from

3) Be able to play movies from the other devices away from home

4) If possible, not kill the years of work that are in the existing NFOs... aka not rescan and have things be corrupted (i.e. files that I have created customer NFOs for, etc)

So far, I have installed the Emby server on a test PC, that has Kodi running on it.  The PC also has a small test library (10 movies, and some TV series).  I have installed the Kodi-Emby plugin.

I van get to the emby management interface.  When I restart Kodi, nothing happens (i.e. UI am not asked for an Emby server address, as I have seen in a youtube video).  Is there additional configuration I need to be doing?

Then once this server/kodi is setup, how would I link that "master database" to my other installations of Kodi?

Thank you!

benbour

First of all, I would let the Emby server handle all of your metadata; it does a good job of this.