How do you organize your Photo libraries?

orcist

I'm just getting started on adding a life time of photos to Emby, and I was wondering how others organize their libraries. My personal photos go back 50 years. Then there's my wife's family's and my parent's family photos. Some of mine are family photos, but a lot are landscapes and buildings.

So how do you organize yours. Any tips?

Thanks!

nuahsocramid

Evening!

My photo album goes back 18yrs and organized by year # and then month #. So 2000 with sub-folders of 01 through 12. And if an event warrants its own folder then I'll create a new folder within that month #. So 2000 / 01 / Event Title. With the camera upload/sync function in Emby I have a "Photos to be synced" folder and within that folder are folders for each device (my phone & wife's phone). When Emby does its camera sync the device folder gets another set of folders (automatically via Emby) depending on where they reside in your phone. For example my device folder has other sub-folders titled: Camera, Downloaded, Screenshots, Hangouts.

I've recently become cognizant of all the data Google collects. Although I enjoy google and their products...I felt having 18yrs of photos is a tad much. Especially when I have my own server & backups that can do this for me. It took me over 8 hours to remove all my photos from Google! They don't make it easy.

Browsing through my hierarchy of photos on Emby is easy and makes sense for me. I use their photo viewer on both the phone app and Android TV.

Their are only 2 issues I currently have...posted and Luke & Team are looking into...are videos recorded on my phone are no longer uploading/syncing and photos aren't going into my devices folder anymore. These issues started after I did a factory reset on my Nexus 6 which was about a month or so ago.

Otherwise I enjoy Emby's Camera Upload and Photo viewer.

Hope that helps!

~sd

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

@@nuahsocramid thanks for the feedback !