Transcoding Questions

Jdiesel

Jdiesel

I am still new to encoding so please bear with me if my assumptions are incorrect.

When a player requests a video from the server it does the following:

a) If "Max streaming bitrate" is set to auto it pings (for lack of a better word) the server to verify the optimal bitrate

B) If "Max streaming bitrate" is set to a user defined bitrate it will default to that

If the video bitrate is greater than the "Max streaming bitrate" it will initiate transcoding, if it is less it will direct play. This assumes that the hardware is capable of direct playing the video in the first place and does not account for other reasons transcoding may be required.

So my actual question is how does the output from the transcoded video meet the player's "Max streaming bitrate" target if it is using Constant Rate Factor (CRF)? My interpretation of CFR is that it does not control the bitrate only the overall quality which can result in the bitrate varying greatly throught the video. Is a flag put in to limit the peak bitrate to the "Max streaming bitrate" or is this even possible with CFR? To me it makes more sense for transcoding to be done at a constant bitrate because of 1) the performance increase and 2) the ability to follow strict maximum bitrate rules. I realize that there are are drawbacks to CBR such as bitrate not being allocated where needed it is needed most which can reduce overall quality. Thoughts?

Maybe a checkbox in the transcoding settings to use CBR over CRF would be helpful to those with strict bandwidth needs or weak hardware for real-time transcoding. 

Edited by Jdiesel

That is more or less how it goes. We use parameters to specify a max bitrate and the encoder does it's best to stay under that value.

Jdiesel