PAL DVD Files not scaling correctly. Emby Theater Desktop.

hardlock

hardlock

Hello Everyone.

I'm very new to Emby and still in the process of setting everything up. So far I'm impressed etc.. However I have come across a rather large fault. I'm from the UK, and many of you will know that PAL DVD have slightly better resolution than NTSC versions. Eg we don't use 480p, but 576i.

I'm currently in the process of Ripping my DVD collection and when I play it through Emby, it's not playing full screen. but in a kind of letterbox mode. Any other player displays the file correctly. Eg VLC, Media players etc...Even when I playback though my phone or tablet it is correctly scaled. Just not on the Theater Desktop Program. I have tried the windows 10 theatre App, and this scales correctly, but this has issues with passing AC3 and DTS sound, and converts everything back to stereo with a 15 second delay. So onto a no winner there either.

This is what I am seeing on a 1080p Monitor.

584d8cf04f6cc_emby.jpg

Upsetting isnt it. Sad face :(

Everything in the video settings is set to default.

My Graphics card is an AMD Radeon r9 290.
Processor is i7 930 @4.2 Ghz
12GB Ram

And all the usual storage and additions.

Using DVI to the monitor. 

Please help :)

Hi, in video settings, try setting the video renderer to EVR or EVR+ and see if either makes a difference. thanks.

hardlock

Using EVR+ scales the image up, however it's doing a very basic/raw upscale with no type of Anti-aliasing. So the image has loads of horrid pixels everywhere. It actually looks like it's been scaled down, then x4 to make it 1080p.

Look at the edge of his hand.

I don't think the JPEG compression has really helped show the issue.

584da172c517c_emby2.jpg

hardlock