Can No Longer Connect From Any Device/App

JMD
Go to solution Solved by JMD,

Ive been running Emby for a few months mostly using a Roku and occasionally an Android device.  Lately all of the devices are able to see the server but can't connect nor can I connect from a laptop using the ip address or the Windows 10 App.  I uninstalled and reinstalled both the server (v3.0.7300.0) and all of the apps.  Ive also opened both the TCP and UDC ports in Windows 10 firewall (this has never been an issue previously).  I was going to add it to port forwarding in my router but dont have the login/password ATM (again this has not been an issue in the past)

I cant think of anything that has changed to cause Emby not to work.  Like I said all apps can see the server but cannot connect to it.

I really like Ebmy and would like to continue to use it.

Any help is greatly appreciated!  Thanks! 

Did your windows server running Windows 10 perform an update? The anniversary update makes the network type public for some reason. You need to set it back to private, not public. The anniversary update also wipes the windows homegroup the machine is in. Arrghhh!! It also, as you noticed already, removes the windows firewall rules for emby. Bad Microsoft!!

Edited by speechles

Thanks for your reply.  Yes it took the latest update.  The network type is set to private.  Firewall rules are set up to allow Emby.  I had to resetup the Homegroup.  Still cant connect though.

Thanks for your reply. Yes it took the latest update. The network type is set to private. Firewall rules are set up to allow Emby. I had to resetup the Homegroup. Still cant connect though.

Did the IP of the emby server change? Are you using emby connect or manually entering the server/IP?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Im not sure how I would know if the IP address changed.  Im using Emby connect and also trying to connect manually using the IP reported in the dashboard.  No luck with either.

Happy2Play