New User - help with managing views

Hello,

I have been using HTPC software for 10+ years (MCE2005, WMC, MediaPortal, Argus TV, NextPVR), but I'm looking to change to something that is more multi platform and easier to maintain.

I'm trialling Emby Server + Emby Theatre + Next PVR.

But.. I am falling at the first hurdle.

I would like my media displayed in categories, such as TV Shows in different categories, for different people (but all logged in under the same user)

And films in categories such as film queue, watched films, Dardenne films etc..

Plus a category 'Cinema History' with other categories embedded within, eg BAFTA Winners, Oscar Winners etc.

I am trying to use 'collections' but I can't get it to look 'clean'.

So when I open Emby Theatre, I just want my various categories of media displayed for me, and not the folder structure that they are organised in on the server.

How would I best go about this, or is it not possible?

Thanks

lisa

Deathsquirrel

Not possible.  You cant get anything like this with everyone under one user if you don't organize these things this way on disk.  Emby could show your folder structure if you want or you could set up different libraries for different users.  You're going to have to give on one of your requirements.

Thanks for the reply, good to know.

It is confusing though.

I imagine a lot of people have hundreds or thousands of media files stored on a server (spread across several hard drives due to space limitations), so once all of that metadata has been scraped, I thought the point would be to be able to organise it in a manner that made it easier to use - different categories, and categories within categories?

Am I misunderstanding something?

Edited by Guest

Thanks for the reply, good to know.

It is confusing though.