Emby - Will it work for me?

augmont

I live in a rural area with no internet access via broadband.

I'm seeking a media manager for an HTPC on LAN that doesn't need internet access to work.  I can tether my phone to grab metadata when I add movies but needs to function without it.  I will only use to movies and music.  

thanks....

I need some advice or direction on storage software for the Emby Server and my server.  I have a Dell Precision T7500 which will have the Emby Server.  The  T7500 has Win 2008 OS and a SuperMicro SAS2LP-MV8 controller.  It has a 250GB drive that has the Win 2008 OS and two (2) 5 TB's drives.  This is all a new build and the T7500 will only be used for Emby and file storage.

What I'm having trouble is finding a RAID/back up/et.c solution for the TB's drives.  I'm a total newb when it comes to this stuff and want something that will play nice with Emby and is cheap/close to free.

this kicker is lack of internet at home so i need a solution that doesn't require regular internet to update files.  The T7500 only has legacy mode in the BIOS (no UEFI) which is why i had to purchase the SAS controller.  

Thoughts or recommendation?  Will FreeNAS work for me?

Edited by augmont

Olywa123

Others can advise on Raid (Im not a fan due to recovery/drive rebuild times - I'm too impatient). Personally I have multiple 3tb and 6tb drives for my media and have complete backup/clones of each of them.

I keep the clones up to date with a free piece of software called freefilesync running it periodically in mirror mode to copy the delta. This works well for me.

If a drive dies or gets corrupt I can quickly swap it out and instantly have all my stuff still available.

That said, I'm sure there will be users of freenas here that can give you some pointers.

--edit

just to add Raid and Backup are not really the same thing, as I understand it raid will not give you the same protection from corrupt/deleted/overwritten data that a full back up would.