Total Noob - How to set up Kodi/Genesis addon/Emby from fresh install

Jayloki

Hi all,

Tried out Emby to try to get all my Kodi machines and boxes synced together. Worked for a few days then stopped. Now it will not update any new TV Shows in the library.( I have no actual files on the Windows 2012 server, just links to online streaming links). I've been incrementally changing Kodi/Emby/Genesis setting to see if it works but to no avail.

I am asking for some help to get a plain jane vanilla Kodi set up on my Windows 10 machine with Genesis and Emby being the only add ons installed.

I am using a windows 2012 home server to house my Library folder(shared in Windows to be seen from all Kodi devices).

I have scoured for exact step by step instructions on how to set Emby up with Kodi but other than the YouTube video, nothing specific.

I need some expert help on the following questions:

1) Is there any specific order to install things?  Kodi first I would assume, then Genesis, then create your library, then install Emby server then the client software on my Windows 10 machine?

2) Must I turn off all and ANY Library updating and content-type settings in Kodi before or after installing Emby? Do I leave Kodi set up in it's default settings???

Please if anyone using Windows, Kodi, Genesis add on and Emby can help me out , you'd be saving whats left of my hair! ;)

Thanks in advance!!

-Jay-

xnappo

Please see how to report a problem thread.  Genesis is a banned Kodi app - so we don't support it, but sounds like something is wrong with Emby in general.  Follow the 'how to report a problem' steps and we can help.

I assume everything looks correct through web client...

As far as your setup - you must NOT have any paths set up in Kodi to your storage area to scrape  - if Kodi tries to 'scrape' the same paths as Emby bad things will happen for sure.

xnappo

Edited by xnappo
  • Like 1

Simple: