stop transcoding on server

blackmamba

blackmamba

I am new to MB, basically moving from using Apple TV

My setup is MB Server running on a windows 7 box, it isn't very powerful and doesn't have much memory, it has never needed to, it basically it is little more than a file server, though it primary use is for my work as a software developer and runs SQL Server and a development website quit happily.

It currently it is also an iTunes server for an AppleTV3 box, when watching a movie the box shows almost no cpu activity as all the work is being done on the Apple box.

I really want to do the same with MB, so I have a RKM 902II Android box, the latest and greatest, I thought that the Android box could do all the heavy transcoding work as I don't care if it maxes out the cpu as its all that it has to do.

But what I see is the MB Server saying it is transcoding and the cpu is running at 70% - 35% for MB and 35% for ffmpeg.

Is there a way I can get the server to offload the grunt work to the Android client, I assume that the server imagines that the android client is just some low powered phone, but its not its a dedicated settop box.

Any suggestions

TIA

Rob 

Deathsquirrel

Sorry but the clients aren't designed to do the transcoding.  That's the function of the server.  If you don't want your server transcoding you may either choose to convert your media to formats your clients support or use clients that can play your formats.

If you choose the former, I suggest MP4 container, h264 video, and AAC sound.  That combo plays on about any device.

For the latter use a PC client as MBC/MBT will play most anything and the win 8.1 app is pretty close.  I have hopes that the xbox one client will be pretty solid in format support but we'll have to wait and see.

AdrianW

If your Android client is capable of transcoding the video then it should also be capable of playing the video direct (with no transcoding).