Metropolis

cgrey000

cgrey000
One of my favorite skins for Kodi is Metropolis. Thought it would be fun to bring some basic MediaBrowser functonality, and add a few visual elements that it didn't have that I like. 

I am still learning skinning, and don't have deep skills to be able to do much more than I have here. Turned out, I was surprised to see just how much of the MB info came through the firs time I opened up my movies and TV libraries. I guess seeing that there wasn't much to do to achieve what I wanted gave me the motivation to figure out how to do it.

Unfortunately, I have very little time. I don't expect to be able to do much to "support" this mod. I probably won't integrate other libraries like music or any custom libraries. I doubt I'll be able to take requests to add this or that... I mostly wanted to share what I did, in case anyone likes Metropolis and wanted to get some basic MB functionality going. I also don't have any knowledge of repositories or distributing skins, so the attached ZIP file does NOT include the entire Metropolis skin - you'll need to install that through the Kodi repo. Also, I did this mod based on the Helix version of Metropolis - I have no idea if these files will work with the earlier (Gotham) version. Included are only the 9 files that I modified to achieve this integration. Finally, it seems there has been some activity in the development of Metropolis overall lately - my changes were made against the first Helix release - 3.0.0. Again, no idea what might happen if you over write these files in a different (later) version. It would probably also be a good idea to make sure you have automatic addon updates turned off, to ensure a newer version of Metropolis doesn't get installed over these changes.

All credit for Metropolis and the work to create the original skin goes to "jingai" in the Kodi community.