HTTPS Support

moviefan

moviefan

Would be something nice to have for sharing out to internet with all the talk of traffic spying going on.  

Especially when using passwords for login.

• Like 5

• 2 months later...
Redshirt

For those that don't know, passwords aren't passed around unencrypted.

Edited by Redshirt

Koleckai Silvestri

I'm not an expert but wouldn't this require a certificate on your server machine?

You can easily build self-signed certificates. For personal use, you don't need anything else. All the certificates do is hold the keys used to decrypt the data. However encryption will probably degrade playback of video for a lot of people.

Easier to create a personal VPN and use it as the tunnel to protect your data. Most mobile devices should allow the user to connect via VPN.

Edited by Wayne Luke

simono5

Easier to create a personal VPN and use it as the tunnel to protect your data. Most mobile devices should allow the user to connect via VPN.

How would you go about doing this?

Beardyname
For those that don't know, passwords aren't passed around unencrypted.

Thank you :) i still would like the option for ssl, but it should be enough for the forseable future anyway!

I'm not an expert but wouldn't this require a certificate on your server machine?

As Wayne mentioned, yes, you can use self-signed, or you can purchase one for personal use.  In a corporate network there are a few more options.

You can easily build self-signed certificates. For personal use, you don't need anything else. All the certificates do is hold the keys used to decrypt the data. However encryption will probably degrade playback of video for a lot of people.

You are still encrypting the traffic whether you use SSL or VPN.  A lot of home VPN routers, even the newer ones, do not support mobile VPN, native or app based.  Also trying to train users how to create and use VPN on their mobile devices is a lot more cumbersome than simply providing them a https address.